Scrumptious Shrimp Scampi Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I have been searching for this receipe for a long time . I would only make one suggestion. I added bay scallops. This made one fantastic meal. it will certainly go in my first choices cookbook. Thanks, mudrogr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mudrogr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is a recipe I could eat at least once a week. I love shrimp, especially lemony garlicy shrimp! I do think the red pepper flakes it calls for was a little much so I halved it to 3/4 teaspoon and that was perfect. I did NOT add the pasta water. I thought the pasta water would dilute all the other favors and I'm glad I didn't add it. I was really able to taste the lemon, garlic, wine and butter with each bite. I may add a little more garlic and some lemon zest the next time I make this and see how that goes. Oh and I cut the red and yellow peppers with a tiny heart cookie cutter just for some fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL! We had this tonight for the first time and it definintly replaces my old scampi recipe! Followed the directions exactly, topped with some fresh shredded parm/romano and served with warm bread. Can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Thanks so much for sharing, misterme. This recipe was delicious, and so easy! I did a few tweaks: I didn't have heavy cream, so I substituted greek yogurt. Delicious. I was also out of red pepper flakes, so I too a few whole dried red peppers, and added them to the roux when the pasta was absorbing the liquid. They added just the right amount of pazazz. I took them out when I served, of course. I dusted the dinner with a little Parmesian, which is a no-brainer. But after dinner, I thought it would be a good touch to drizzle on a little lime juice, just before serving. Sliced black olives seem to make sense to me, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
this was soo good. I used frozen shrimp and instead of clam juice I used chicken broth. I will add this to my regular recipe list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
We loved this recipe. Omitted the red and yellow peppers...I like but my husband doesn't. He thought it was a bit spicy and I even cut down on the red pepper. I thought the amount of red pepper was fine. If you have someone in your family that is a spicy wimp, might want to cut down on red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I ended up tweaking it a bit based on another recipe I'd seen and it turned out perfect! Added 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. of saffon, just 1/2 tsp. red pepper, one tsp. lemonjuice and 2 green onions. It won rave reviews from my book club and had the perfect amount of kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
i often find shrimp scampi to be bland. this was anything but bland. very tasty. i didn't have clam juice so used a littel chicken broth instead, didn't have yellow pepper so used red pepper and some yellow onion. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 12katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this nearly exactly as instructed except I used pre-cooked shrimp and threw those in later. Also, because I had to open a can of clams for the juice, I went ahead and put in the claim pieces. This turned out wonderfully...great flavor! Thanks, I'll be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe. But, I use store bought Alfredo sauce when I'm in a hurry. It still turns out great. I like the idea of adding scallops. I will definately give that a try. Maybe tonight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States