Scrumptious Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by darrianprice93
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
omg. i LOVED this recipe. i added a little bit of shredded mozzerella but other than that i followed it to a tee. and WOW. im in love lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Followed recipe exactly with the only exception being I deep fried in peanut oil in my deep fryer. These were excellent and my wife asks me to make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
A big hit for our new years eve party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I always come back to this recipe with a few minor changes. I like to make mine with HOT sausage and add cayenne pepper and shredded Swiss cheese. I even find myself getting into the fridge the next morning and choking on them for breakfast. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I was given this recipe, years ago, it was lost when a relative tried to copy it. I've missed making these for many, many years. I 'd to like to thank Margaret Turnbow from Pasadena, TX or any of her relatives, if they are looking At allrecipes.com Sincerely, Momiss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Just didn't compare to the real thing I am used to up North. They were good, but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I had some sauerkraut sitting around and wanted to make something with it, I hate wasting. I have never tried sauerkraut balls before, and didn't even know that they existed :-) I followed the recipe a 100% which is almost a first for me. I did not feel like the prep work was extra strenuous. They turned out great. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PM181920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I just served these sauerkraut balls at a New Year's Day party. I received so many compliments and requests for the recipe. Guests even raved how much better they were than a couple of well known German restaurants in Columbus Ohio. I am guilty of making some minor modifications. I used more onion than the recipe called for as well as honey mustard and black pepper. I used the refrigerated sauerkraut in a plastic bag and hand sqeezed all the liquid from the kraut (don't rinse). A chef on T.V. once said that the only use for "dried" parsley is for garnish. I used fresh cilantro since my local store ran out of fresh parsley. Also, use a couple of fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic salt and add a little salt. I doubled the recipe and used a 1oz scoop to form the balls (30ct). I was worried that placing them in a crock pot would make them soggy. It worked fairly well. Simply place papertowels on the bottom and then place paper towels between each layer with the crockpot on warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINERBOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very good! A friend had made something like these for a Christmas party a few years ago so I was happy to find this recipe. I made them for a superbowl party and kept them warm in a crock pot set on low. There weren't any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I made this exactly by the recipe, except I rinsed the sauerkraut and I wish I hadn't. It needed a little more flavor. But I can't wait to make the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Boudin Balls

See how to make a crispy, meaty appetizer for game day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States