Scrumptious Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I always come back to this recipe with a few minor changes. I like to make mine with HOT sausage and add cayenne pepper and shredded Swiss cheese. I even find myself getting into the fridge the next morning and choking on them for breakfast. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I was given this recipe, years ago, it was lost when a relative tried to copy it. I've missed making these for many, many years. I 'd to like to thank Margaret Turnbow from Pasadena, TX or any of her relatives, if they are looking At allrecipes.com Sincerely, Momiss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Just didn't compare to the real thing I am used to up North. They were good, but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I had some sauerkraut sitting around and wanted to make something with it, I hate wasting. I have never tried sauerkraut balls before, and didn't even know that they existed :-) I followed the recipe a 100% which is almost a first for me. I did not feel like the prep work was extra strenuous. They turned out great. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PM181920

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I just served these sauerkraut balls at a New Year's Day party. I received so many compliments and requests for the recipe. Guests even raved how much better they were than a couple of well known German restaurants in Columbus Ohio. I am guilty of making some minor modifications. I used more onion than the recipe called for as well as honey mustard and black pepper. I used the refrigerated sauerkraut in a plastic bag and hand sqeezed all the liquid from the kraut (don't rinse). A chef on T.V. once said that the only use for "dried" parsley is for garnish. I used fresh cilantro since my local store ran out of fresh parsley. Also, use a couple of fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic salt and add a little salt. I doubled the recipe and used a 1oz scoop to form the balls (30ct). I was worried that placing them in a crock pot would make them soggy. It worked fairly well. Simply place papertowels on the bottom and then place paper towels between each layer with the crockpot on warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINERBOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Maine, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very good! A friend had made something like these for a Christmas party a few years ago so I was happy to find this recipe. I made them for a superbowl party and kept them warm in a crock pot set on low. There weren't any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I made this exactly by the recipe, except I rinsed the sauerkraut and I wish I hadn't. It needed a little more flavor. But I can't wait to make the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Great recipe with good ratios. I ate sauerkraut balls like crazy growing up in Ohio and LOVED them. Never even thought to make them before until a recent ball-themed snack party. I tried variations of this recipe and determined that you can substitute about a clove or so of garlic for the garlic salt (this dish doesn't need any extra salt). Definitely WASH the kraut and drain well, even squeezing out the excess water with your hands. Careful on the amounts of onion and garlic as both can overpower the taste of the balls. I added about a teaspoon each of fresh thyme and oregano at the end of cooking the sausage and added a T or two of fresh Italian parsley before mixing up the balls. Caraway seeds are a good addition too. Chilling the mixture in the freezer for 15 min. before balling makes it so much easier. Used buttermilk in the coating for extra flavor. Did half with Panko instead of crumbs but you could barely tell the difference, both in look and taste. Frying was key to a crispy coating but these reheat very well in a hot oven or toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Labor-intensive but wonderful. Baked at 350 for 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Deliciously odd! I really liked these. They weren't that bad to make either as far as labor goes. I did make them with leftover kraut and polska kielbasa. This is very unique- thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States