Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Excellent recipe; I followed other's suggestions and did the following: saute fresh mushrooms and onions in butter before browning meat, reduced milk to 1 1/2cp. milk, added 1 1/2 beef broth, and added a cn of cream of mushroom soup as the last step. This will definitely be on our table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMB146

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
When I first made this dish, my husband and I both found it to be much to salty. Next time, I omitted the canned mushrooms in their own juices and instead used fresh mushrooms. This eliminated the salty flavor. The patties were very flavorful, but I added some crumbled bacon bits and a little crushed garlic. I also prefer a gravy made with cornstarch over flour and found that to work great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rozet, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Moorcroft, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
We LOVE this recipe -- easy, cheap, and yummy! My only change is to saute sliced onions with the mushrooms. This one is firmly entrenched in our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
SUPER GREAT! This was the first time I ever made salisbury steak. I did change the recipe a little, we like onion so added more, used only 1/2 the milk and salt, and as others have done I used a can of beef broth and a can of cream of mushroom soup, fresh mushrooms that I sauted in the butter to use for the gravy, and a tsp of worsh. sauce. This made the gravy nice and thick. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roosterlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I added worcestershire sauce to both the patties and the gravy, I also used 2 cups of beef broth and 1 cup of milk. I also placed the patties in a casserole and smothered them in gravy, I then covered with foil and baked for about 30 minutes. The gravy needed additional thickening as I felt it was too runny for my family's taste so I added a bit of slurry before pouring the gravy over. It was good and with the minor adjustments I made it will remain in the line up, thanx for a good recipe the whole family likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was really good....everybody loved it INCLUDING my 3 picky children! I did, however, have to omit the mushrooms, but still delicious. I also left out the poultry seasoning, used seasoning salt, garlic pepper, and onion powder and the "steaks" were super flavorful. We liked the gravy over mashed potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Delicious! I did make a change though, not because I saw anything wrong with the recipe but because I am lazy! Instead of making a sauce with the butter, flour, milk, and mushrooms...I just used a can of cream of mushroom soup and milk. I added some flour to make it thicker. Still turned out yummy! And it had a good gravy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Who would think that salisbury steak could be so good? Whenever I think of salisbury steak, I have visions of TV dinners. Fix this with mashed potatoes and biscuits and you have a meal fit for a king. Like me, you will swear off TV dinners forever. I served the very easy to prepare, "Red Hot Biscuits" from the allrecipes website. With the mashed potatoes, I just can't tell you how good it tasted. Even though I only had two cups of milk and had to substitute chicken broth for the rest of the milk, the consistency and flavor of the gravy was primo. This was an absolutely awesome and amazing meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I made the patties according to the recipe, but for the gravy I sauteed fresh button/crimini mushrooms in butter and set aside. I then added more butter/flour and added a can of beef broth and an equal part of milk. I also added worcestershire sauce and dijon mustard before adding the reserved mushrooms and the pre-browned patties back in. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaponE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Yep, I made this again and it was just as good as the first time. I did omit the beef boullion cube, used fresh mushrooms and cut back about 1/2 cup milk, but, it was delicious in the end. I don't think I altered the recipe enough to not follow the directions as they were. This time, I did make it with mashed potatoes. Again, we had enough for left overs. Next time, I don't think I will put poultry seasoning in my meat mixture, I think I will change it to a steak seasoning or maybe include some steak sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States