Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
It was awesome. I did however, use what was in the pantry and fridge. As others suggested. I used a basket of mushrooms some Worchester sauce, an onion, clove of garlic browned in butter and then added the flour,some milk and beef bouillon If you don't have poultry seasoning , season the beef as per your taste! Seasoning salt? onion powder? Trust your buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Just made this tonight and hubby and both kids loved it. I had to tweak it just a little, kids hate canned mushrooms, so I just sauteed onion in place of the mushrooms in the gravy. I love how simple this recipe is. I'm not a great chef..(just ask my family, LOL), but this is great because I can get creative with it. I did add cornstarch to the gravy because I was in a hurry and it wasn't thickening up very fast. If you hate trying new recipes cause they take forever and nobody really likes it...try this one. We loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Not bad but not something I am going to make on a regular basis. the sauce was good on our mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This turned out really good. The whole family loved it. I did adjust it a little to our own preferences but basically the same. I used fresh mushrooms and chopped garlic,sauteed with a lot more onions in the butter,also 2 cups milk and one can of beef broth.It thickened up nicely. I served it over rotelli and sprinkled fresh chopped parsley on top,so good and also would be great over mashed potatoes. My family is looking forward to this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Did not like the way the gravy turned out. It was too runny and bland. We did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Very easy and very yummy! I made this dairy free and substituted beef broth for milk. I also used fresh shitake mushrooms. This came out amazingly, no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocaholic720

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
too salty and texture of steaks was mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Very good recipe. Made it just how recipe read..only added a few drops of gravy darkener and used fresh mushrooms. Was devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome recipe! Took the advice of others and used fresh mushrooms cooked prior to adding to gravy (especially since I read that canned mushrooms are allowed, per fda, to contain up to 20 mites/can, whether this is true or not I prefer to err on the side of caution)... This is the first review I've ever written and I've used quite a few recipes on here. I found this dish so easy and so yummy, as did my husband and 17 yr old picky daughter, that I wanted to try and cancel out one of the bad reviews- don't listen to them! Esp if you're adept in the kitchen and can make the slight modifications necessary to fit your preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I thought this was good. I did use fresh mushrooms and brought gravy to boil then down to simmer to help thicken it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States