Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Pretty good base recipe. Browned patties, then made gravy and baked 1/2 hour @ 350. Patties need more seasoning. Add a lil Worschestire to the gravy and use fresh mushrooms. Less liquid and used beef soup base rather than the bullion. (I do not use poultry seasoning either but after making numerous times, salt pepper, garlic, a pinch of oregano, sage or basil depending on how I feel.)Sauteed mushrooms then made a roux to add the liquid to. Last time I used 1/2 beef and half fresh sausage (we just butchered a pig) to stretch the beef. Maybe a little sausage would have been okay but 1/2 and 1/2 was way too much. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is sooo good!! Only things I changed was I used fresh mushrooms (because I love them) and left out the poultry seasoning (because I didn't have any). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I'd never thought of adding poultry seasoning to ground beef before but it definitely made the meat delicious. I'll probably start using it in my meatloaf too. I used seasoned bread crumbs instead of the cracker crumbs, fresh mushrooms instead of canned and half milk and half beef broth for the gravy. I found that this resulted in very bland gravy, so I quickly dissolved a couple tablespoons of bouillon in some hot water and added that to the gravy, plus a ton of pepper. I did end up adding a bit of corn starch water too because I like a thick gravy. It was wonderful. Hearty and comforting. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious! The only change I made was to use fresh mushrooms in place of the canned. I served with mashed potatoes and salad. Will definitely make again - even though my 6 yo daughter didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I doubled the recipe, glad I did, it was delicious! use high quality ground beef, fresh mushrooms instead of canned, pay attention to the 1" thickness recommended for the patties -- we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Fantastic! Followed recipe exact (except added 1 additional tbl of flour to gravy). My kids enjoyed it but I should of minced mushrooms so they didn't pick them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very good recipe - family loved it. Followed recipe as written except to substitute fresh mushrooms for the canned based on what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Easy & quick. Excellent taste. My 5 y/o son said it was a keeper. Can be a little salty as mentioned in other review, however we didn't mind the salty taste. Can leave out the salt in the meat to help reduce the over salt taste. Used skim milk & it did fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Yummy! This is so good. My husband asked that I make this once a week. I followed the other reviewers in sauteing the onion and mushrooms first. I also addefd in the cream of mushroom at the end. The rest of the recipe I followed the recipe as is and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States