Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
While my family found the meat moist and tender, we all agreed this was lacking beefiness. As the gravy finished I found I had to increase the cooking time so it could thicken. Not that unusual as we live over a mile high, but in the end bolstered it with a cornstarch slurry and beef stock. This probably won't be fixed at home again, but will make for hunny's family with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good recipe. I left out mushrooms due to family member with allergy to them, but added sliced onions instead. Husband usually doesn't eat anything with gravy, but ate this gladly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I didn't eat it, (just a little taste), but family really likes it. I used a can of low sodium beef broth and drained the canned mushrooms to get lower the sodium content a little. Since I used beef broth I cut back the milk to 1/2 cup. It was a little lacking in flavor in the end so I stirred in a teaspoon of beef Better Than Bouillion. I served it over egg noodles. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was such a great dinner that even my toughest critic didn't mind having left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
i thought the patties tasted good. The gravy to me was bland. I used 1 1/2 cups milk and 1 1/2 cups beef stock. I also added beef base. I'm still trying to get the gravy to be not so bland. I just put everything in the crock pot and hopefully after it cooks more it will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
made it according to reviewers suggestions - mix the flour with either the milk or beef broth or you will have lumps!! Otherwise, great flavor - be sure to add the worshestershire at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nana2elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great comfort food! I followed everything to a tee except i used freshed mushrooms. My family really enjoyed it! Great taste in the patties and gravy but next time ill use less flour because i like my gravy thin, it came out to be really thick and ill definately double the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We found this to be very bland. I only changed two things, I substituted beef stock for half the milk since I hate boullion cubes and will not buy them, and I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I don't think the changes were the problem. It was adequate, but not the comfort food I was looking for. Definitely not "scrumptious".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good. I subbed fresh mushrooms for canned. I forgot to add poultry seasoning to the meat, so I tossed it in the sauce instead. It turned out great, and no need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States