Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great Recipe and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Good base recipe, but for my husband's taste, I knew I'd have to add to it. I used ground VENISON, and it worked just fine. To the patties, I added 1/4t celery salt, and 1t garlic, along with a little extra minced onion, and increased the poultry seasoning to 1/2t. In the gravy, I used fresh mushrooms and a small thinly sliced onion, which I cooked in the meat drippings with a bit of butter. I also added a dash of sage, probably 3/4 or 1t dry mustard powder, 1/2t garlic powder, and 1t worchestershire sauce. I also had to add cornstarch on top of the flour, as it simply would not thicken to desired consistency. I got rave reviews with these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I've tried a couple of salisbury steak recipes on this site and this one is by far everyones favorite. The gravy is what makes it so good I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I gave this 5 stars, but as an altered recipe as others did. I made the steaks same as the recipe. On the sauce, I sauted fresh mushrooms and onions. Then I added 1 1/2 cup milk and 1 1/2 cup beef broth, and a can of cream of mushroom soup and a little Worcestershire sauce. Excellent with the changes. I don't like boullion, which is the main reason for the change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I cannot believe I haven't rated this yet since I fell in love with it the first time I made it! We followed the recipe the 1st time, but this last weekend I tweaked by using a package of fresh sliced mushrooms and about 3 slices of sliced yellow onion and 1 small minced clove of garlic added to the gravy. As a kid I just loved Salisbury steak and I have never grown out of it. This is so easy and so yummy, and I think it will be a great way to use leftover hamburger after we have made hamburgers, just reduce the recipe for about 2 servings. I use low fat milk (1% or 2%)and 4% fat ground beef, reducing the guilt but not the flavor. This is at the top of my "comfort foods" list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scullycat68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I wish there was a half star on this site. I really think these are in the middle for my family. The meat was a 5 for sure but the gravy was a bit off. Ours looked off and I had to keep trying to thicken it. 3 cups of milk is way too much and the gravy is a bit bland. I think I'll take the advice of others when i make this again or I'll use the meat half and find another gravy recipe. Wish I could give this a 3.5, great meat...not so great gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
While my family found the meat moist and tender, we all agreed this was lacking beefiness. As the gravy finished I found I had to increase the cooking time so it could thicken. Not that unusual as we live over a mile high, but in the end bolstered it with a cornstarch slurry and beef stock. This probably won't be fixed at home again, but will make for hunny's family with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Good recipe. I left out mushrooms due to family member with allergy to them, but added sliced onions instead. Husband usually doesn't eat anything with gravy, but ate this gladly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States