Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Great recipe! I wasn't sure if my husband would like and he loved it! I didn't have any poultry seasoning, so I used some grilling spice for poultry. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This dish was out of this world! I can't wait to make it again. I highly recommend this dish! No need to make any substitutions or alterations- perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caraleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Who would think that salisbury steak could be so good? Whenever I think of salisbury steak, I have visions of TV dinners. Fix this with mashed potatoes and biscuits and you have a meal fit for a king. Like me, you will swear off TV dinners forever. I served the very easy to prepare, "Red Hot Biscuits" from the allrecipes website. With the mashed potatoes, I just can't tell you how good it tasted. Even though I only had two cups of milk and had to substitute chicken broth for the rest of the milk, the consistency and flavor of the gravy was primo. This was an absolutely awesome and amazing meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was most excellent. I only made very minimal changes: exchanged the crushed crackers for bread crumbs (because that's what I had on hand), left out the mushrooms cuz I don't like 'em, used 2 1/2 cups milk & 1/2 cup water, and added a small splash of worchestershire sauce. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This dish had a wonderful flavor and I will definately be adding it to my weeknight lineup. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I would make some changes. Next time I will add the flour before the mushrooms and cook off a couple of minutes until the flour is incorporated. Also make sure the milk is added gradually, stirring all the time, to make the gravy/sauce a little thicker. Delicious, though, and my husband really liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I was plesantly surprised at how good this came out. I made the meat without any changes but I bought some gravy at the market eariler and wanted to use it up so I sauted the mushrooms then added the gravy and cooked with the meat. I did use a little more onions and mushrooms than were called for. I fixed this with mashed potatoes, carrots and biscuit bread. Both my wife and I thought it was a wonderful meal. It doesn't taste anything like the TV dinner.... this is a good, easy to fix meal and I highly recommend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Delish! Will definitely make over & over!! For lack of ingred., the changes I made were bread crumbs, beef seasoning, 1 can mush, 1/2 c. fresh mush, 1/3 cup water, and added a little bit of "Wyler's Shakers" beef bouillon with the reg. bouillon cubes. Looking for a recipe to use that "free" case of beef patties you get from places like K.C. Steak Co. when you order steaks? I tried to dip patties in egg first, then into dry ingred. and DID not work!(kept falling apart). But then I just mushed the patties in w/ all the ingred. like the recipe calls for & Wa-Lah!. Made an awesome flavor! I too added flour before mush. Do not let the color fool you...I was expecting a dark brown & questioned adding even more bouillon shakers until I tasted it. It was a light tan but had a flavor to die for! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I made some changes so that this would be more 'fat friendly'. I replaced the ground beef with ground turkey and the crackers with matzo meal. I omitted the poultry seasoning and omitted the butter--instead I used nonstick spray. I seasoned the meat and the sauce with dried minced onion, season salt, minced garlic and lots of pepper. Instead of using three cups of milk I used one can of fat free beef broth and enough non-fat milk to equal three cups and thickened with cornstarch. I added a good squirt of ketchup as well and left out the liquid from the mushrooms. I used corkscrew pasta and there was nothing left! YUM! This also is a great make and freeze meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it did not turn out very good at all. The gravy was very thin and the meat was a little dry. Sorry to be the first one to give this recipe a nonperfect review, but I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I liked these. I had a bunch of ground beef to use up so I subsituted milk for the egg, made the patties and froze them. I made them a few days ago and they came out wonderful. I used whole fresh mushrooms and it was pretty classy for a ground beef dish! LOL!! The gravy was very good and could stand on its own if need be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States