Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made this and even my picky 6 year old loves it! I did cheat a bit with the gravy....I used cream of mushroom soup mixed with beef bouillion. I didn't thin the soup with milk or anything, I just adjusted the amout based on how many patties I had. I also used ground beef mixed with dry onion soup mix and made patties from that. This is definately in our meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
It was good, but not great. I had a difficult time getting the gravy to thicken up and I think I would have preferred fresh mushrooms instead of canned. If I make this again, I will definitely make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I personally did not care for the gravy. I scraped it off, in the middle of cooking, and used a roast beef gravy packet and it was good to go. The gravy in this recipe was too buttery and rich. The meat mixture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawn buford
Home Town: Del City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very good recipe. You might want to season your patties a bit more but other than that very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I tried this recipe for the very first time last night. I thought it was great, just a little salty. I should have read the reviews, next time I try this and I will try it I will try the suggestions and tips I have read in the reviews. Instead of using buttery crackers, I used saltine crackers and increased the tablespoons, I aslo did not add poultry seasoning. I served with butter noodles. This recipe is quick and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very good! I made a couple of changes on the fly...my meat mixture was too wet so I added an extra 2 T cracker crumbs (the meat I had was wet so I'm pretty sure that was the problem), extra T of flour to thicken the roux, and replaced the bullion cubes with Better than Bullion. Served with mashed potatoes it was very very good, and even my picky son ate it up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I used more like 1/2 cup chopped onion for the patties, as I felt they would need a little more flavor, used fresh mushrooms and only two cubes of bouillon. I added just a smidge of Worcestershire to the gravy, to make it like my Mom used to make it. I might try just one bouillon cube next time, as the gravy was a bit too salty for our tastes, but overall this was a great comfort food dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I used 8 oz of fresh mushrooms instead of canned, added fresh garlic, and added some fresh parley at the end, but otherwise made the recipe as written. It was yummy! I served it with corn bread and green beans, but I think it would be excellent on top of some flat noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmileChicago
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Didn't care for it. I'm really disappointed too because we all love this kind of food in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
only soso, gravy was good but the meat was a little bland and dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States