Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is sooo good!! Only things I changed was I used fresh mushrooms (because I love them) and left out the poultry seasoning (because I didn't have any). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I'd never thought of adding poultry seasoning to ground beef before but it definitely made the meat delicious. I'll probably start using it in my meatloaf too. I used seasoned bread crumbs instead of the cracker crumbs, fresh mushrooms instead of canned and half milk and half beef broth for the gravy. I found that this resulted in very bland gravy, so I quickly dissolved a couple tablespoons of bouillon in some hot water and added that to the gravy, plus a ton of pepper. I did end up adding a bit of corn starch water too because I like a thick gravy. It was wonderful. Hearty and comforting. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delicious! The only change I made was to use fresh mushrooms in place of the canned. I served with mashed potatoes and salad. Will definitely make again - even though my 6 yo daughter didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I doubled the recipe, glad I did, it was delicious! use high quality ground beef, fresh mushrooms instead of canned, pay attention to the 1" thickness recommended for the patties -- we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Fantastic! Followed recipe exact (except added 1 additional tbl of flour to gravy). My kids enjoyed it but I should of minced mushrooms so they didn't pick them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very good recipe - family loved it. Followed recipe as written except to substitute fresh mushrooms for the canned based on what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Easy & quick. Excellent taste. My 5 y/o son said it was a keeper. Can be a little salty as mentioned in other review, however we didn't mind the salty taste. Can leave out the salt in the meat to help reduce the over salt taste. Used skim milk & it did fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Yummy! This is so good. My husband asked that I make this once a week. I followed the other reviewers in sauteing the onion and mushrooms first. I also addefd in the cream of mushroom at the end. The rest of the recipe I followed the recipe as is and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made this and even my picky 6 year old loves it! I did cheat a bit with the gravy....I used cream of mushroom soup mixed with beef bouillion. I didn't thin the soup with milk or anything, I just adjusted the amout based on how many patties I had. I also used ground beef mixed with dry onion soup mix and made patties from that. This is definately in our meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
It was good, but not great. I had a difficult time getting the gravy to thicken up and I think I would have preferred fresh mushrooms instead of canned. If I make this again, I will definitely make a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States