Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I didn't eat it, (just a little taste), but family really likes it. I used a can of low sodium beef broth and drained the canned mushrooms to get lower the sodium content a little. Since I used beef broth I cut back the milk to 1/2 cup. It was a little lacking in flavor in the end so I stirred in a teaspoon of beef Better Than Bouillion. I served it over egg noodles. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was such a great dinner that even my toughest critic didn't mind having left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
i thought the patties tasted good. The gravy to me was bland. I used 1 1/2 cups milk and 1 1/2 cups beef stock. I also added beef base. I'm still trying to get the gravy to be not so bland. I just put everything in the crock pot and hopefully after it cooks more it will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
made it according to reviewers suggestions - mix the flour with either the milk or beef broth or you will have lumps!! Otherwise, great flavor - be sure to add the worshestershire at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nana2elise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great comfort food! I followed everything to a tee except i used freshed mushrooms. My family really enjoyed it! Great taste in the patties and gravy but next time ill use less flour because i like my gravy thin, it came out to be really thick and ill definately double the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We found this to be very bland. I only changed two things, I substituted beef stock for half the milk since I hate boullion cubes and will not buy them, and I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I don't think the changes were the problem. It was adequate, but not the comfort food I was looking for. Definitely not "scrumptious".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good. I subbed fresh mushrooms for canned. I forgot to add poultry seasoning to the meat, so I tossed it in the sauce instead. It turned out great, and no need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Used 1/3 of the milk, 1/2 small can cream of mushroom soup and water to thin it out to my preferred consistency. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I rate this 3.5 stars. It was pretty good, but I won't make it often. Good comfort food if you ask me. The gravy took a long time to thicken (it did thicken nicely) even at medium heat. I almost added more flour but glad I didn't; I think it would have tasted too much like flour if I did. I didn't get 6 1-inch patties out of the beef, only 5 3.5 to 4 inch patties which was ok with me. Oh, I used fresh mushroom and sauted them until they started to darken just a *little* bit before adding the flour which worked out in the end since the gravy took so long to thicken. I think if I had sauted them longer to make them can style soft if you will, they would've been over cooked. I also added some sliced onion (sauted with sh'rooms)because I like the combo and I had an opened one in the fridge that needed to be used. I also think this gravy would be a good base for stroganoff too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldneyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States