Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
We found this to be very bland. I only changed two things, I substituted beef stock for half the milk since I hate boullion cubes and will not buy them, and I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. I don't think the changes were the problem. It was adequate, but not the comfort food I was looking for. Definitely not "scrumptious".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very good. I subbed fresh mushrooms for canned. I forgot to add poultry seasoning to the meat, so I tossed it in the sauce instead. It turned out great, and no need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Used 1/3 of the milk, 1/2 small can cream of mushroom soup and water to thin it out to my preferred consistency. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I rate this 3.5 stars. It was pretty good, but I won't make it often. Good comfort food if you ask me. The gravy took a long time to thicken (it did thicken nicely) even at medium heat. I almost added more flour but glad I didn't; I think it would have tasted too much like flour if I did. I didn't get 6 1-inch patties out of the beef, only 5 3.5 to 4 inch patties which was ok with me. Oh, I used fresh mushroom and sauted them until they started to darken just a *little* bit before adding the flour which worked out in the end since the gravy took so long to thicken. I think if I had sauted them longer to make them can style soft if you will, they would've been over cooked. I also added some sliced onion (sauted with sh'rooms)because I like the combo and I had an opened one in the fridge that needed to be used. I also think this gravy would be a good base for stroganoff too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldneyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this exactly as the recipe called, and found that flavor-wise, this dish was a 5. However, this had to have been the most watery gravy I have ever seen in my life. That is why I gave it a 3. Next time I make this, I will definitely experiment with the gravy. But as the author wrote it, I would have to say it was just substance to get me through to the next meal. Nothing to write home to Mom about....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was a good recipe. I gave it 4 stars because the timing is off, it took 20 minutes longer. Also 3 cups is too much milk, my gravy never got thick enough. ****I made this again and reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. It's easy to make and SO full of flavor! I used fresh mushrooms, and since I didn't have an onion, I used dry onion flakes. I served it with mashed potatoes and fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Very good recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I was a little Leary about this, made a few tweaks to the receipe but when all said & done, it was delish! The kids & husband devoured it first then worked on the sides, which pleased me. I made it with egg noodles but the gravy congealed to quickly, not sure how to fix that. It was yummy tho! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great recipe! The gravy turned out nice and thick; I made the recipe as is but cooked a bit longer then the 10 minutes in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States