Scrumptious Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by HappyBakerBrittany
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
In "my version" of this popular southern recipe, if you do not use a hand mixer, it is important to use sifted powdered sugar to make sure you have smooth frosting. *Edited to add*: It is also very important to let the caramel cool to lukewarm before adding the powdered sugar, so it can thicken sufficiently. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyBakerBrittany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Easy recipe to follow and make. Great taste! My kids, like most kids, like the frosting as the best part of the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicola

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I forgot to sift the sugar, but it was smooth anyway, It tasted divine! I made a chocolate bunt cake and cut it in half, sliced strawberries and used them along with the yummy frosting to give it a great filling! Thank You Brittany!! Terrific! Will for sure make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
MMM...delicious frosting. It was perfect in the sweetness department. As it cooled, it took a more pipe-able consistency, which is what I was hoping for (otherwise I would have needed to add extra sugar) It made beautiful roses on my mini chocolate cupcakes. I had to put them in the fridge to hold their shape, but it was perfect. Thanks for sharing! *Update:- I initially put it in the fridge because it was looking pretty glossy, as if it may melt. After leaving it in the fridge for a few hours it hardened nicely. I then decided to leave it out overnight and during most of the day to see if it would hold up and it did! My roses are still looking lovely :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I made this for my Dil's bday and everyone loved it. I had to leave off the nuts(allergies) but my grandson found some and added to his piece. He said yummiest cake ever. Thanks for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Clute, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Very sweet and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was absolutely delicious on the Applesauce Spice cake I made yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is such an easy, yummy frosting recipe! I made it to top some zucchini spice cupcakes...it was super yummy! I didn't have any half-and-half, so I just used milk instead. It turned out perfectly, and looked beautiful on my cupcakes. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Delicious and fudgey just like it's supposed to be! I like this frosting because it can be enjoyed warm and didn't melt into the still-warm cupcakes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBlair1979

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States