Scrumptious Penuche Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This is an excellent departure from the usual buttercream. I needed a glaze and frosting for my donuts and cupcakes too. It filled the bill nicely and tasted wonderful. The brown sugar complemented and tasted wonderful on the applesauce cake and the nutmeg donut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I would love to give this recipe 5 stars, but I altered it. I planned on using this recipe to frost a spice cake. After making the caramel and tasting it, I found it to be quite sweet. Adding 2 c. of confectioners' sugar would've made it inedible for my family. So rather than adding the powdered sugar to make icing, I instead used the caramel as a glaze over the spice cake. As a glaze, it was fantastic: not too stiff, not too runny, and not unbearably sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I wanted to halve this recipe to ice half of a 9x13 cake. Needed to shorten boiling time of butter and dk. brown sugar to about 90 seconds. I could tell by the smell that this was necessary, probably because of the reduced amount in the pan. I also only added 1/2 cup of confectioner's sugar. The icing set up fine for a sheet cake and was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Mine didn't thicken up a lot, but it tasted delicious and was great for frosting the 13x9 molasses cake I made for my husband. The cake was his Grandma's recipe and he was yearning for a taste of his childhood, but all his aunt could tell me about the frosting was that it was brown sugar and butter. It didn't turn out to be the same as Grandma's, but his Mom and Aunt said this was better than the original on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Excellent very tasty used on apple spice turned out great I highly suggest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Ridiculously sweet, and really not my thing... but I made this to top cupcakes for a client...and she said it was delicious and perfect, so there you go! The instructions are well-written, which is helpful. I will add a tip: if you're icing LOTS of cupcakes (I did 4 dozen), part way through icing it will start to crystalize... simply stir in a bit more cream/milk to get the right consistency again and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this recipe to top a 9" x 13" yellow cake as this combo is one of my husband's favorites. I loved the ease of making this recipe and we both really enjoyed the caramel flavor. As to frosting, we don't like lots of it so this was perfect for us. One recipe makes just enough for a a fairly thin layer of frosting on a 9x13 cake. If you like lots of frosting, I'd suggest halving again or even doubling the recipe. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady
Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA
Living In: Inkom, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Didn't like the taste of this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
The taste is wonderful, but make sure that you can work quickly. I followed the instructions to a T and unfortunately it got hard rather quickly and made it very difficult to spread onto a layer cake. If anyone has suggestions as to how to make it a little softer I would appreciate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made exactly as written with no experimentation or variations. Very good taste. The texture is really dependent on cooling the cooked mixture adequately. I made one batch and thought it was lukewarm when it was not; it went from thin to hard without a good spreading phase in between. For the second try I took a reading with my instant read thermometer and held back on beating until it was just 104 degrees. That batch had a much better spreading consistency. It still tended to want to slide down the sides of the cake and then surface harden fairly quickly, which didn't make for a completely attractive final product. You can't work and rework the surface like a buttercream. One more thing, it is a heavy icing and needs a sturdy cake to support it. My little yellow cake layers got somewhat compacted under the weight. But we all enjoyed the taste. It never became piping consistency as some others have written, so if that's important to you, think twice about this recipe. Maybe there are some tricks to making it pipe worthy that I just don't know yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States