Scrumptious Frosted Fudgy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Hi! I am the submitter of this recipe and when you simmer the heavy cream and sugar, make sure you see tiny bubbles around the edge of the pot. Oh, and you can stir the frosting in the refrigerator often, it doesn't have to be every few minutes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
this is my favorite homemade brownie recipe. I use 1 1/2 c of cocoa + 1/2 c of melted butter to sub for the 8oz of unsweetened chocolate (I always have cocoa powder and hardly have unsweetened chocolate) - I also like baking it in a jelly roll pan, it's done in about 22 min and I can get about 50 pieces out of it, it also helps that I like thin brownies ... and I've been successful using milk in place of the cream for the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I also was like Keri and made these when she shared her recipe on "the exchange". This rivals my Dad's Chocolate Death Cake. I about go into a chocolate coma when I eat these. My husband and I fight over the leftovers and don't dare share with the kids. Want a fabulous brownie recipe, look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Amazing brownies. I didn't have enough butter to make the full recipe, so I cut it in half and used a 9x9 pan. Also didn't have any unsw. baking choc. squares, so I substituted cocoa and butter (3T cocoa + 1T butter for each oz of choc). Made the full recipe of frosting--keeping the extra in the fridge--it will taste really good on a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
These are absolutely, hands down, the BEST brownies I have ever made, or eaten! No changes needed to the recipe. Thank you Celeste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
These are by far the best "fudgy" type brownie out there. My family can't get enough of them! They come out soo "pretty" and taste even better! Not for those who only "like" chocolate!!! I also LOVE the frosting and use it for fillings in cakes, to frost cakes/cupcakes, and my husband loves to have a container in the fridge to eat it w/ a spoon! :) If you are looking for the ultimate chocolate brownie, look no further. What do you have to lose...give them a try! And if you by chance don't like them...send them our way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I love these brownies! I have never had such fudgy brownies, or such rich, fudgy frosting. It is very important not to overbake these, or you will lose the fudgy texture. Give these a try, you won't be sorry,(unless you prefer cakey brownies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I'm sorry to say that these brownies were not good at all (in my opinion). I followed the recipe exactly and they just did not turn out well. I didn't like the texture and the taste was that of extremely bitter chocolate, but I will admit that I am not a fan of dark chocolate. If you are not a fan of dark chocolate these are definatley not the brownies for you. But if you are you may love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I struggled with what to give these brownies. I followed the recipe exactly. They are extremely rich. A small, bite-size piece is enough. We are dark chocolate lovers and they were still a bit much when it comes to richness. I did appreciate the icing and will likely use it again on another brownie or a cake recipe. This recipe is worth trying if you like rich, heavy brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Best brownie recipe on this site! The frosting is to die for. Be careful not to overbake these or else they won't be so fudgy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States