Scrumptious Frosted Fudgy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Wow!! Celeste gave me this recipe on the exchange well before it was published but I was secretly terrified of it, thinking I'd burn the chocolate and make an utter mess. Why, oh, why did I not make these months ago?!? They are too die for and my idiot self even only added 1/2 a c. of butter to the batter instead of a full cup. I can only imagine how good they'd be with a full cup. Make sure you follow the directions with the icing. The icing alone tastes like a delicious rich brownie batter. I'll be making these for years to come. Thanks for a real winner, Celeste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Wow !!! Eating one of these feels like having died and gone to chocolate Heaven !!! Oh so good !!! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe, Celeste !!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Oh, Celeste...you chocolate goddess, you! These are UNBELIEVABLE, FABULOUS, FANTASTIC, STUPENDOUS...(well - you get the idea). Let's just say my family and I enjoyed these very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
These are the best brownies I have ever made!!! They were so fudgy and they just turned out PERFECT. I only made half but next time I will make the full recipe because these are so amazing. I followed the recipe exactly, no need to change it.. it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
OMG! These are amazing! I bought really great quality chocolate and they came out fabulous! A week later and the guys at the office are still talking about them! Very rich and definately for chocoholics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I have to say these are the best brownies i have had in my whole life. My mom says that they are a little too sweet and to cut the sugar in half. But i say its just prefect for anyone who loves chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I struggled with what to give these brownies. I followed the recipe exactly. They are extremely rich. A small, bite-size piece is enough. We are dark chocolate lovers and they were still a bit much when it comes to richness. I did appreciate the icing and will likely use it again on another brownie or a cake recipe. This recipe is worth trying if you like rich, heavy brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I found this recipe & another highly rated (by over 300 people) cocoa-based brownie recipe on this site. I wasn't sure which one to make so I thought I'd have a 'taste testing'. I made both batches & cut each up into little serving pieces. I happened to be having 12 adults guests over for labor day, so I gave them each a 'testing plate'& asked them to tell me which one they preferred. This recipe was the unanimous winner. Everyone commented on how rich & fudgy they were. I had to scold my 2 adult kids because they were trying to eat the whole pan! And I didn't even frost them. Thanks, Celeste. I will never by another boxed brownie mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Made these for our Labor Day BBQ and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The brownies were awesome -- moist, dense and fudgy, which is just what I'm looking for in a brownie. Lots of work to make the frosting, though, which isn't something that typically bugs me, but if I'm putting that much time, effort and money into frosting, it better be the best frosting in the universe! And it wasn't. It was good, with a really rich, chocolatey flavour, but it was sticky and when the brownies were served, it quickly became melty and drippy. So if you're going to keep the brownies in the fridge, then I guess the frosting's good, but if you're going to serve them and have them out for guests, and presentation is important, I'd go for a frosting that sets up a little bit more solidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States