Scrumptious Frosted Fudgy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These brownies are IT. The be-all, end-all of browniedom. They are thick, fudgy, rich, chocolatey...exactly what I have been looking for in a scratch brownie recipe! And the frosting is delightful. I made the frosting using half and half instead of heavy cream. Turned out fine and reduces the calories by about 40 per piece. I also halved the recipe and baked in a 9inch square pan. Everything halves perfectly except the eggs, for which I used 2 eggs + 1 egg yolk. For the frosting, I put in the servings as 13 to get the proportions to go with 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate (which was all I had left). That's a little less than half the original frosting recipe, but it was plenty. Thank you, Celeste, for an amazingly good recipe. A+++.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made these for a family gathering and the reviews were VERY mixed. Some people really loved how rich, dense and moist they were. Others thought they were "too much." However, no one ventured to have a second, and in my family, that's usually a clear sign. They definitely have great chocolate flavor, but I think I'll continue my search for the perfect brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
If you are looking for a fudgy brownie...then look no further! This is a very good recipe that got great reviews from all who tried it. For me, I would leave off the frosting in the future, but DH disagrees with me, so I think that is just a personal preference. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
These are the best brownies I've ever had. Yes, they are very sweet, rich, and decadent - but these are adjectives that SHOULD be used to describe brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This review is for the brownie part only as I didn't end up using the frosting (I had leftover buttercream so ended up using that as frosting). They're very good, nice and fudgy as promised, but I too got that weird crust that some other reviewers mentioned. A crusty top on brownies isn't a weird thing in itself, but for about 1/3 of the pan, the crust was raised up and there was vacant space underneath it. I had to peel those areas off before frosting, but the rest of it, where the crust was directly on top of brownie was fine. Still, great fudgy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Too heavy and far too expensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Groom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockeport, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
this is my favorite homemade brownie recipe. I use 1 1/2 c of cocoa + 1/2 c of melted butter to sub for the 8oz of unsweetened chocolate (I always have cocoa powder and hardly have unsweetened chocolate) - I also like baking it in a jelly roll pan, it's done in about 22 min and I can get about 50 pieces out of it, it also helps that I like thin brownies ... and I've been successful using milk in place of the cream for the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Extremely decadent and fudgy, although a little too sweet for my liking. The icing is delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Really nice flavor.. more dark chocolately than sicky sweet like boxed brownies can be. They were easy to make and everyone enjoyed them. I personally liked them cold better than room temperature. When they were cold, I think they were more chewy and at room temp they had a slight cake texture. I think these would appeal mrore to adults than kids because of the dark flavor of them.. which is fine by me because I get more! :) I bet these would be yummy if you subbed kahlua for the vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
The flavor of these is definitely a 5 star rating, but the texture is a 3, so I took the average. Mine developed a thick crust on the top that you could literally peel off in chunks. I checked these after 25, 30, 35 minutes, and they were still liquid in the middle. I probably ended up baking these for 40-43 minutes. The crust was developed by the first testing. I followed the recipe exactly. I will probably try these again because my kids still ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States