Scrumptious Frosted Fudgy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I followed this recipe to the letter. I thought it would produce a nice fudgy brownie. Boy was I wrong. I have always been good at cooking and baking, but these just burnt around the edges, formed a crust on top and never cooked in the middle. It was like a brownie cake on the outside with fudge sauce in the middle. I even baked them more than twice the amount of time suggested thinking that they might finally set. The batter had a great flavor, but in the end it was a waste of ingredients. They ended up not being edible at all. I was really disappointed as they smelled so good as they were baking. This is the first time I have ever given a bad mark to any of the recipes I have used on this site. Normally I have much success. All I can think is that I must have done something wrong or something just totally went amiss with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
These were some great brownies! I followed recipe exactly as written, and they turned out great! They were a little Rich, but with all that chocolate and sugar...they ought to be! My niece and nephew, who both LOVE LOVE LOVE chocolate said they were" too chocolatey" I think the best way to serve is in very small pieces... Overall, Wonderful and I'll be making them again and again, Thanks so much for Sharing Celeste!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
These are so chocolatey and delicious! Next time, I may use 2 9x9 pans, because I like my brownies to be a little thinner, but that is just personal preference. I used a glass dish, so I preheated to 350 degrees. Here are the few changes I made: 1) I cut them small and placed in cupcake liners for easy handling. 2) I refrigerated for a few hours to make for easy cutting and then thawed them for a few hours before serving. 3) I didn't know if everyone liked walnuts, so I made some with walnuts and some without, all in the pan. All I did was cut a strip of parchment paper to be the exact length of the middle of my pan. Then, I folded it in half, and placed it so that one half was flat on the pan, and the other was sticking up in the middle of the pan. Then, I placed some objects on the flat half to hold it while I poured one side of the brownies. I then removed the objects and poured the other half of the brownies. The parchment paper held up and didn't let either side of the brownies meet much. When cutting, I just cut them and then removed the parchment. Easy breezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
SOOOOOOOOO GOOD! They were finished before i could frost them! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Why oh why isn't there a 10 star rating option? These will knock your socks off even without the frosting. So fudgy and moist and everything a great brownie should be. Perfection! Only thing I'll do differently next time is pour the batter into larger pans so they're not quite as thick (and thus reduce the baking temperature and time). Sprinkling in some miniature milk chocolate chips wouldn't be a bad idea either, they'll just need to be cut into smaller squares from being rich but that just means the batch will go further if you're serving them at a party or as gifts. Thanks for the recipe. My life is now complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
The WOW factor is how this brownie was described by our friends. I made three types of brownies for a sundae bar and this rich, fudgy, chocolatey delight was enjoyed by everyone. They are very rich, so I cut them in small pieces. The frosting on this brownie is the best "brownie frosting" I have ever made. So glad I had too much frosting that I could just eat a spoonful of it. YUM! If you like fudgy frosted brownies, please look no further. Celeste has given you the perfect recipe to try. I individually froze some pieces for lunches, they thaw great and look like the day I made them. Thanks Celeste for sharing your recipe - it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I will give a longer review once I try them, but as a warning you must wait for the topping to be completely cooled and the brownies to be completely cooled!! I know they look delicious but please let them cool!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Jo Shepard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Oh my chocolatel-y goodness! These are incredibly delicious. Very rich and fudgy, exactly what I was craving on a cold rainy day. Thank you so much Celeste for this keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Believe the reviews that say this is a dark chocolate recipe. I love chocolate, but this was too much for me. However, the frosting is divine. I will definitely use it again paired with a sweeter base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Wonderful moist and super fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States