Scrumptious Frosted Fudgy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Holy jumping cats! These are UNBELIEVABLE! I made these for my husband to take to work as a weekly treat and they were gone within an hour and a half! I tried one at home first and it was the deepest, darkest, most chocolaty brownie I've ever had. And the icing - it's a bit of a production, but it is SO WORTH IT. I had to work hard to keep myself from just gobbling it down with a spoon! These brownies received rave reviews from all of my husband's coworkers. I do recommend using good quality chocolate for the icing - I used Ghiradelli - because the taste of it comes through so strongly. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonina_mdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Oh. My. God. Unbelievably delicious. I followed the recipe to a "T" without changing anything. The best brownie recipe EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
These were fantastic - I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using half and half instead of the heavy cream. I think the frosting should be a recipe on it's own - I've never been more pleased with a frosting. Not only did it taste great, but it stayed beautiful through the cutting - same with the brownie. Thanks for a great (indulgent) recipe Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Bravo, Celeste! These are fabulous. Watch the baking time. I used a metal non-stick pan, set oven at 350 degrees (375 seemed too high for my oven) and took brownies out at 32 minutes. Outer edges were a little dry. Ovens vary so much, 350 degrees is a safe bet, next time I'll take it out at 30 minutes. Followed recipe on frosting, for those who thought it was runny, refrigerate per instructions, stirring it occasionally, it will thicken nicely. The nuts are essential. It is fantastic served with a scoup of vanilla ice cream, it will impress your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
These are AMAZING!!! At first, I thought the frosting was a little runny but it set well anyway and I got the feeling these brownies would be great even without the frosting. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Unfortunately I baked mine for 35 minutes, but it was too long for my oven, so the edges were a little overdone. But nonetheless, the center of the pan is amazing! I followed the directions for the frosting, except cutting back on the sugar because I used semi-sweet chips instead of unsweetened blocks. My frosting was very runny though, despite letting the sugar/cream simmer until it bubbled. Any tips on how to get the frosting to thicken up?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Fabulous fudgy chocolate chocolate brownies - my daughter requested them for her class for her birthday instead of cupcakes - not a crumb left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Best brownie recipe on this site! The frosting is to die for. Be careful not to overbake these or else they won't be so fudgy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
We are a brownie-loving household and we all gave these brownies an enthusiastic 5 stars...and my 5 year-old does not give out a five star rating very often ;)The only change I made to the recipe is I omitted the nuts and sprinkled the top with m&ms. Rich and fudgy, just like we like it :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Yes, rich, fudgy, and scrumptious absolutely describe this incredible dessert. A pan full of these will go a long way, but to pull one of these from the freezer when you want something to carry you off into Sweet Heaven will be pure nirvana. Thank you, sweet Celeste ♥ ♥ . It's been worth the long wait to have these hit the AR archives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States