Scrumptious Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I just made this cake and it turned out good, my husband really likes the frosting. I dont think the picture posted with this cake is for this recipe. mine is not a as dark. however the cake is good, I had no problems with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I just made this cake for a dinner party and it is delicious! The next time I make this cake, I will only make half of the frosting as this recipe makes a TON of frosting that is far to rich to use all of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong, but this cake wasn't what I expected. Didn't even look like the deep, rich chocolate cake in the pic. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
My sister made me this for my birthday, it was by far the best, most intense chocolate cake I've ever had. mmmmmm, goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
The first time I made it the center fell and it was a thick, fudgy consistancy. (probably because it was taken out when the timer beeped and I was busy /w the baby) I just made it again today and cooked it about 8 minutes longer than the cook time. It didn't fall & was very moist. It's a chewy chocolate cake /w a hint of cinnamon. Not the classic fluffy chocolate cake. I didn't do the icing this time since I used it in Death by Chocolate (i wouldn't recommend it for this because of the cinnamon) perhaps I'll give it another try someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiviaDesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was sooo simple. I made it for my son's 12th b-day because he LOVES chocolate. It was wonderful and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
very, very good cake. the frosting is very addicting. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Caro, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This cake is sooo delicious, however it does take some preperation time. Overall, it is chocolaty but not too rich, and the icing makes it an instant hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Delicious! Moist, Rich and absolutely delicious. My family is lactose intolerant so I substituted lactose free whole milk for the buttermilk- It was still DIVINE. Will keep this recipe and make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AKMONKI
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
nice cake- not just the regular boring chocolate cake here. I halved the recipie to make a smaller layered cake with the frosting in between layers. but the frosting recipie did not turn out well for me at all. it was not smooth at all, so i had to add a little more milk and some melted chocolate chips to make a usable consistency. other than that, it was a very nice little cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States