Screwdriver Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Great Cake. The directions fail to tell you where & when to do the vodka. Mix the vodka with your 3/4 cup of orange juice & rest of ingred. I only had French vanilla Instant pudding on hand......Turned out Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Everyone that tried this cake just loved it! I plan to make it often. I adjusted the glaze by using less orange juice so the glaze would be thicker and added a bit of orange flavoring to help mask the taste of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
What a great idea! I could only find a red velvet cake mix and that seemed to work. My BF tasted the batter and said he couldn't taste the vodka, so I put an extra 1/4 cup - wooooh! I juiced an orange and added zest for the glaze but it was pretty runny; needs more powdered sugar. Also, step 2 forgets to list the addition of vodka, but that's when it goes in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Yummy and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
It doesn't mention it, but you put the vodka in with the juice. My friend and I made this together and brought it to a bunch of friends. It was a hit...almost couldn't save any for later!! I used the Cake Mixes from Scratch with Variations recipe's dry ingredients instead of a cake mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This cake is great! If you like cake and screwdrivers try this!! It went so quickly at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunatic23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ARow
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very neat cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I made this for a superbowl party and everyone loved it. The glaze did absorb into the cake so I made another batch of glaze reducing the orange juice to two tablespoons and regalzed after it completely cooled. I also added fresh orange zest to the glaze. My husdand is a chef and loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This cake is fabulous! I am eating a piece now (still warm from the oven). Great flavor and I don't even like the mixed drink screwdriver but this cake rocks! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this for a party I was having a work. Wow! Everyone loved it! The only thing I did was added about 1 tsp. grated orange peel to the batter and did not make the glaze, just because I forgot to buy my confectioners sugar, and it was still wonderful. Ratings were off the charts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States