Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I've made these twice now, and they didn't scream, and they didn't crisp, but they were still some of the best potatoes I've ever eaten. They are on my permanent "to do" list. It's the perfect recipe for those little tiny potatoes that find their way to the bottom of the bag. Skip the butter, too. They're great just as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
These potatoes are the best; I did not have a tight fitting lid, so I dissolved salt in water and added more as it evaporated. They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awitha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I, too, do not have a cast iron pan. I grew up using them, but alas, they are all still in Oregon with my mom. And I do not have access to them, but I decided to use my nonstick pans anyway with the thought they would not turn out the same as advertised. And, no, they didn't, but I'm okay with that. They actually cook pretty well this way, even in a nonstick pan--they turn out very soft and buttery, and the salt flavors the potatoes almost like the Salt Potatoes I've tried--but with way less salt. I also put in some dried rosemary and parsley, and I liked them that way. I had to cook a bit longer--about 10 minutes more, but I knew they were done when one potato pretty much fell apart in the pan. Nice potatoes, and easy--just don't expect a crisp outer shell in a nonstick pan. I also don't know what the "screaming" is all about--maybe they are "screaming good"? Not a clue, but thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I have been cooking potatoes in the skin for years. I put water to cover potatoes and boil till tender. I use the leftovers to chop for hashbrowns or reheat and eat wtth butter or take a cold tater and wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tea Ja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
We had these for dinner last night. So sweet withou any butter. These are my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
How will I determine the right heat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
In historical circles we call these "stoved potatoes, or stovies". They are indeed a treat and go well with any meat recipe. They can be "kicked up" for serving with beef by adding a tablespoon of horseradish to the cooking pot. Adding grated onion also adds a kick. Great treat for those who love potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Great! I do recommend leaving the lid off and letting the water boil out and the potatoes get a little crusty. These were yummy and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Simply the best potatoes!! I ususally make them with dry onion soup mix, but these were soooo much better. My husand could not stop eating them! He kept picking on them after we finished our meal. I will most definately make them again. Have to admit, I got nervous that they were not going to crisp up so I drained the pan and transferred to a sheet pan and put in the oven at 400 for a while after cooking on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I have an iron Lodge skillet that came with a lid that works great for this recipe and any other that needs a good seal. The potatoes came out great. I loved the salty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hustonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States