Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
In historical circles we call these "stoved potatoes, or stovies". They are indeed a treat and go well with any meat recipe. They can be "kicked up" for serving with beef by adding a tablespoon of horseradish to the cooking pot. Adding grated onion also adds a kick. Great treat for those who love potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADOWS1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Great! I do recommend leaving the lid off and letting the water boil out and the potatoes get a little crusty. These were yummy and a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
These were quite good. I took the lid off and let my skillet go dry for the last 5-10 minutes, this crisped up the skins a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I've made these twice now, and they didn't scream, and they didn't crisp, but they were still some of the best potatoes I've ever eaten. They are on my permanent "to do" list. It's the perfect recipe for those little tiny potatoes that find their way to the bottom of the bag. Skip the butter, too. They're great just as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I have an iron Lodge skillet that came with a lid that works great for this recipe and any other that needs a good seal. The potatoes came out great. I loved the salty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hustonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
very good and very easy. these were a nice change of pace. i served them with NY Strip steaks and on the recommendation of someone else, I added horseradish to the mix. Took the lid off the last 5 to 7 mins and they came out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
These potatoes are the best; I did not have a tight fitting lid, so I dissolved salt in water and added more as it evaporated. They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awitha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: West Plains, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Simply the best potatoes!! I ususally make them with dry onion soup mix, but these were soooo much better. My husand could not stop eating them! He kept picking on them after we finished our meal. I will most definately make them again. Have to admit, I got nervous that they were not going to crisp up so I drained the pan and transferred to a sheet pan and put in the oven at 400 for a while after cooking on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I, too, do not have a cast iron pan. I grew up using them, but alas, they are all still in Oregon with my mom. And I do not have access to them, but I decided to use my nonstick pans anyway with the thought they would not turn out the same as advertised. And, no, they didn't, but I'm okay with that. They actually cook pretty well this way, even in a nonstick pan--they turn out very soft and buttery, and the salt flavors the potatoes almost like the Salt Potatoes I've tried--but with way less salt. I also put in some dried rosemary and parsley, and I liked them that way. I had to cook a bit longer--about 10 minutes more, but I knew they were done when one potato pretty much fell apart in the pan. Nice potatoes, and easy--just don't expect a crisp outer shell in a nonstick pan. I also don't know what the "screaming" is all about--maybe they are "screaming good"? Not a clue, but thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
They didn't scream, nor did they crisp and they were just so-so. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States