Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Kevin clearly stated you needed a cast iron skillet for this recipe. I didn't use one and they didn't turn out correctly. This is mostly a warning that you must use a cast iron skillet for this recipe to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
We loved these potatoes! The insides were the fluffiest we've ever had. I used a non-stick pan and it worked just fine. I'll definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
So simple and so easy! The key is a well-cured cast iron skillet and use yukon gold or red potatoes. The skins come out crispy, yet the inside is firm and moist. Definitely slather in butter and sprinkle some chopped herbs to dress 'em up a little. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
These tasted like little baked potatoes....not exactly what I was looking for. They tasted good with gobs of butter, but didn't have much flavor straight out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Really good. I used a non-stick skillet and the bottoms were brown and crusty, while the insides was perfectly tender. I thought I would need more spices than salt, but keeping it simple allows you to taste the potato flavor. I used Eastern potatoes (which are larger), cut them, and put them flesh side down in the pan. Because my potatoes lied flat, I couldn't get the other sides to brown. If I have large potatoes next time, I'll put them skin side down and attempt to flip them over when I shake the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
5, 5, 5. This recipe is simple, inexpensive, and surprisingly DELICIOUS! I couldn't understand how something with so few ingredients could taste so awesome. Try this, if you cook it correctly, you will surely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Mine were screaming, "were done!" after 1/2 the time called for ;). These are good potatoes, especially considering how easy they were to make. I do however think that they could use a bit of kick, maybe some sliced jalapenos in the skillet would do the trick- Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This is the best way to make new potatoes! They come out so perfectly and evenly cooked in just a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Way too easy for how great these are. I make these all the time. The kids love them! I use a non stick pan and they turn out fine, but I'm sure they're even better in an iron pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States