Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
I have been making this recipe for years. I am glad it is being shared here. We love these potatoes. Sometime we make them with Mrs. Dash added with the salt, but they are great with just the kosher salt. They can also be made in a non stick pan and turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This was an amazing side dish. You wouldn't think anything this easy to prepare could taste this good. I was concerned about leaving the potatoes whole rather than sliced but they cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This seemed too simple to turn out well...boy was I wrong! It was like eating little baked potatoes. Even my picky teen liked them. I used a non stick pot since my cast iron doesn't have a top and they turned out great!!! Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
So very easy and so very delicious. I used a nonstick pan and did not get that "crunchiness" as described but we didn't miss it. My husband repeatedly said how good they were. Take the advice of the description and just try it - you will be surprised! Thank you for this recipe, this will become a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Way too easy for how great these are. I make these all the time. The kids love them! I use a non stick pan and they turn out fine, but I'm sure they're even better in an iron pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
5, 5, 5. This recipe is simple, inexpensive, and surprisingly DELICIOUS! I couldn't understand how something with so few ingredients could taste so awesome. Try this, if you cook it correctly, you will surely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Really good. I used a non-stick skillet and the bottoms were brown and crusty, while the insides was perfectly tender. I thought I would need more spices than salt, but keeping it simple allows you to taste the potato flavor. I used Eastern potatoes (which are larger), cut them, and put them flesh side down in the pan. Because my potatoes lied flat, I couldn't get the other sides to brown. If I have large potatoes next time, I'll put them skin side down and attempt to flip them over when I shake the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
So simple and so easy! The key is a well-cured cast iron skillet and use yukon gold or red potatoes. The skins come out crispy, yet the inside is firm and moist. Definitely slather in butter and sprinkle some chopped herbs to dress 'em up a little. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
We loved these potatoes! The insides were the fluffiest we've ever had. I used a non-stick pan and it worked just fine. I'll definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States