Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
OK, I'm a big fan of potatoes, so I had to try this recipe. I'm an experienced cook, so I figured this simple recipe would be a piece of cake. Well, it is. BUT ... it took me two tries to get it right. For anyone who has poor results on the first try, I say try again! You may have to play with the level of heat (that's what I needed to do) to get great results. But when you get it right, MAN, THESE TATERS ARE GOOD! I was just popping them in plain, without even adding butter. The crispy outside and fluffy inside make these really, really good. Definitely worth a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made this for dinner last night and guess what? It tasted like, um.....cooked potatoes! I followed the recipe exactly and they never made a peep. Not even a whimper, much less a scream. They'd have to sing a little song and do a little dance before I'd bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Kevin clearly stated you needed a cast iron skillet for this recipe. I didn't use one and they didn't turn out correctly. This is mostly a warning that you must use a cast iron skillet for this recipe to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Mine were screaming, "were done!" after 1/2 the time called for ;). These are good potatoes, especially considering how easy they were to make. I do however think that they could use a bit of kick, maybe some sliced jalapenos in the skillet would do the trick- Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
What could I possibly be doing wrong? I am considered quite a good cook, but this is the third try on these and they aren't "screaming" or crusty. I used a high quality cast iron skillet and covered them....and every time all I get are little baked red potatoes and a salty mess in the bottom of my skillet. My husband loves red potatoes, so I'm sure I'll continue to try these...maybe one day they'll finally come out the way I imagine they should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
So very easy and so very delicious. I used a nonstick pan and did not get that "crunchiness" as described but we didn't miss it. My husband repeatedly said how good they were. Take the advice of the description and just try it - you will be surprised! Thank you for this recipe, this will become a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
I like this recipe and will try again. I didn't have kosher salt on hand and substituted 1 tables. of sea salt with over salty results. The skins didn't crispin so at the end I removed lid and cooked awhile longer. At very end added butter, minced garlic, parsley and pepper. Thanks for sharing Kevin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
We loved these potatoes! The insides were the fluffiest we've ever had. I used a non-stick pan and it worked just fine. I'll definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
This was an amazing side dish. You wouldn't think anything this easy to prepare could taste this good. I was concerned about leaving the potatoes whole rather than sliced but they cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I made this as stated, other than adding 1/2 the salt. Used my cast iron frying pan and had the burner at med-low for about 40 min. They were done perfectly, only, I never heard any "screaming" so I'm not sure what that's about. My only complaint? I wish I'd made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States