Screaming Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Absolutely loved these potatoes! I own a 12" cast iron skillet with a cast iron lid, so I was fully equipped. The creaminess of the potatoes was remarkable. It reminded me of Syracuse Potatoes, without the effort! When these were done, I removed the 'tators from the pan, scraped out the larger salt "formations" and threw in a half stick of butter. As it was melting in the residual heat, I returned the potatoes to the pan, tossed them around and sliced each in half, and then flipped all the halves cut side down. I'd made a pork roast with sauerkraut and kielbasa, and we served ourselves right from the stove top (steamed and buttered broccoli rounded out the meal). Great meal, and I've made these screaming potatoes twice since then. Thanks for a real keeper, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I added fresh rosemary and onions, the potatoes were infused with flavor. Nice not to have to turn on the oven in the summer. This will definitely be a house favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I used a good heavy deep dish pan (because i didn't have a good sized cast iron skillet on hand) and small russet potatoes, added about a tablespoon of butter, sprinkled with an unknown amount of salt and granulated garlic, and they came out great. Served with butter and chives, even better. It really was worth the try :) Definitely will make again (and there's so many ways to customize it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
very good! I used regular red potatoes, (didnt have new potatoes on hand) and they were great, so tender. I used cast iron skillet with glass lid, so I could "watch" them, cooked for about an hour on low. Can only imagine how good new potatoes would be! So easy, love the fact that I can put them on and leave it to attend to other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
They weren't bad. But they weren't AMAZING either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I cooked them in olive oil and used sea salt instead of kosher salt. They were quite addicting. If I can ever keep myself from eating them right off of the skillet, then next time I will top them shredded cheese, sliced marinated jalapeno, scallions, bacon bits and sour cream -then serve them to my hubby or guest on the skillet with a couple of beers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made this for dinner last night and guess what? It tasted like, um.....cooked potatoes! I followed the recipe exactly and they never made a peep. Not even a whimper, much less a scream. They'd have to sing a little song and do a little dance before I'd bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I have a cask iron pot but not a skillet, it works fine, but they only need 30 minutes until they're soft and lovely inside. I couldn't find kosher salt when I went looking so I just use sea salt and it tastes great! We had them with the Teriyaki Tuna (from irakaway) it was all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I made this as stated, other than adding 1/2 the salt. Used my cast iron frying pan and had the burner at med-low for about 40 min. They were done perfectly, only, I never heard any "screaming" so I'm not sure what that's about. My only complaint? I wish I'd made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
ok, I'm a huge fan of potatoes, every conceivable kind of potatoes. With that, I am only rating these a 3 because my husband loved them and I could either do with or without. I used my cast iron skillet, cut red and gold potatoes in quarters. I was impatient to wait the 45 min. so I upped my heat to around med. regardless of the temp. they still took 40 min. to cook and when they started "screaming" I assumed they were doing the right thing. However since you're not supposed to lift the lid, I didn't know most of the skins were burnt crisp until lifting the lid, although I could smell something burning! My husband loved them because he loves charred anything but I wasn't impressed. I put lots of butter and pepper on them and the leftovers went to the pouch. I will try these again as some suggestions state to because i want to see if they can come out as great as everyone who loved them says. I'm not sure if they would ever had crisped up if not for upping the heat though, so not sure what to do with that for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States