Scrambled Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I picked this recipe because I liked the idea of the tomatoes mixing with the tofu, but I found it to be too much-maybe half a can would have been better...but then what to do with the other half? :P I omitted the cheese-not in the diet. I added chopped garlic and a few mushrooms, along with some cayenne and cumin. I also crumbled some firm tofu (not silken). But I still thought it tasted like tofu-not sure how people can mistake it for eggs :P It was a nice change, but I'm not sure it satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I give this 4 stars in concept. I took some mods from other posters and the finished product was absolutely FANTASTIC! I've been cooking with tofu for a few years. My son is a football player and Tofu is an excellent source of protein. The trick with cooking with Tofu is to make sure you press it. Take a kitchen towel and fold it around the tofu. I used firm tofu for this recipe. Press as much of the water out by using you hands. Change towel and press again then put a heavy pot on top of it for about 5 minutes. Lay the pressed tofu on paper towels to "air dry" for about 15 minutes. Then it's ready to use. I used 1/2 of a large red bell pepper, 1/2 scallion, 4 cloves of garlic, 1/2 c. Shitake Mushrooms, 1/2 c. of Baby Bellas a can of Original Style Rotell (drained), and used spiced Himalayan Salt, Hot Madras Curry Powder and the Turmeric. I chopped all veggies into little diced pieces and sauteed them in garlic and olive oil for about 3 minutes and then added the crumbled tofu. Once the tofu was cooked well, I added the drained rotell and spices. Cooked until heated through.... This was a BIG hit and will become a staple brunch/snack in our home. I will have to double, or maybe triple the recipe next time because everyone wanted seconds, but there was only enough for three servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whispering Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Price
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
OMG!! This was so much better that I anticipated. I made a few modifications. I mashed up a pack of firm organic tofu. Chopped up a med yellow onion. One small green bell pepper. One medium organic russet potato and turmeric to taste and a little sea salt. I made this for my 16 year old daughter who is very vegan and does not like tofu. She had no idea there was tofu in this dish. The only thing she asked was, " Is this fake egg?" I replied with a yes! She loved it and never knew the difference nor will I ever tell her. It is so hard to get enough protein in her with her extremely picky diet. But, this dish is a definite keeper. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Price

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Yum! So much better than scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Didn't care for the turmeric taste, or how liquidy it was. Worth experimenting with though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this as I'm avoising eggs since i may have an intolerance to them. I think the sucess od this recipe depends on the brand of tofu you use, as their are significant taste/texture differences between them. I used "unisoya" and did not like this at all despite adding more veggies, cheese, a little soy milk and mustard powder instead of turmeric since I didn't have any. I also did a dash of salt, pepper and a little Italian seasoning. Didn't turn out this time, but may try again with a different brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Delicious and EASY!! The tumeric makes it look just like eggs! Definitely will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Quite delicious and easy! I opted to drain the tomatoes, and I'm glad I did because the tofu still had some liquid, or I would have had breakfast soup instead of a scramble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I added mushrooms to saute with the green onions. I added water the first time I cooked it and it was soupy as mentioned by someone else. I used fresh tomatoes both times and did not add any water the second time I used this recipe and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronwyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I am vegan, so do not use any dairy. You can really put anything in this; however, I use firm tofu & put through a ricer. I saute with fresh onions, peppers and garlic, then add turmeric and Braggs amino acid (or soy sauce). For breakfast, I add hash browns on the side -- very filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States