Scrambled Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Turned out very good, although I made changes. Used mushrooms, red & green bell peppers and chopped onion, and didn't have turmeric so I used mustard powder (figured it might add a bit of yellow to make it look more like eggs), onion and garlic powders and a pinch of curry powder. Topped with fresh herbs and wrapped in a tortilla. Next time I think I will season and start cooking the tofu first, then add veggies because it took about 10 minutes to cook off the liquid and by then the peppers were cooked too much for my taste. So next time I'll saute the tofu for 5 minutes or so before adding the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
I made some modifications to this recipe. First, I didn't put any cheese. I sauteed the tofu with diced green pepper and sliced mushrooms, and added the tomato in last. I also crumbled the tofu into the pan instead of "mashing" it, so it looked like scrambled eggs. It was a tad soupy. The vegans loved it, and I thought it was pretty good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMI1Y

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This recipe is very similar to mine. There are many variations to scrambled tofu. Make sure you use firm or extra firm water packed tofu and not silken. Also, only use spoonful of chopped tomatoes or salsa. This dish tastes great with toast and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I didn't have any green onions so I just subbed other dried spices (basil, oregano, thyme, and red pepper flakes) and it turned out quite yummy. Definitely squeeze out the water from the tofu before you cook it (I found using non-silken tofu worked better). The cheese added nice flavor at the end. This is good, and makes a quick and easy snack or meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Pretty good. I used half the tomatoe juice, but it was still very liquidy. Next time i will drain the tomatoes completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I added cumin, coriander, curry, and cayenne to this, which spiced it up nicely. I also drained the tomatos and next time I too, would use firm rather than silken tofu because it was a bit soupy. But this is a good easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Made this for dinner tonight and it was great! I didn't have green onions, but used green peppers, a little spinach, and portobello mushrooms. I also didn't add tomatoes because I was afraid it would be too soupy. Also, next time I will cook the tofu and the sauteed veggies in a separate pan. Once you add the tofu (and the water that inevitably comes with it), the crispy green peppers got really soft. Overall, I really liked this recipe and will experiment with it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Great in the morning! We followed the recipe and it turned out great! we did use a little more chesse but it was still awesome! and a word of advice-children under twelve will believe these are scrambled eggs they taste just like them and are even more healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Delicious alternative for eggs in the morning! I also added some mozzarella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I give this 4 stars in concept. I took some mods from other posters and the finished product was absolutely FANTASTIC! I've been cooking with tofu for a few years. My son is a football player and Tofu is an excellent source of protein. The trick with cooking with Tofu is to make sure you press it. Take a kitchen towel and fold it around the tofu. I used firm tofu for this recipe. Press as much of the water out by using you hands. Change towel and press again then put a heavy pot on top of it for about 5 minutes. Lay the pressed tofu on paper towels to "air dry" for about 15 minutes. Then it's ready to use. I used 1/2 of a large red bell pepper, 1/2 scallion, 4 cloves of garlic, 1/2 c. Shitake Mushrooms, 1/2 c. of Baby Bellas a can of Original Style Rotell (drained), and used spiced Himalayan Salt, Hot Madras Curry Powder and the Turmeric. I chopped all veggies into little diced pieces and sauteed them in garlic and olive oil for about 3 minutes and then added the crumbled tofu. Once the tofu was cooked well, I added the drained rotell and spices. Cooked until heated through.... This was a BIG hit and will become a staple brunch/snack in our home. I will have to double, or maybe triple the recipe next time because everyone wanted seconds, but there was only enough for three servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whispering Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States