Scrambled Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This is a vegan staple! I am new to veganism so I make this all the time. However was using to much oil. Reducing the oil made all the difference. I am lazy so I used canned tomatoes with chili's (spicy, yumm). I added garlic powder and ate this with a banana and small bagal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this today and it was great! I used dry mustard instead of tumeric, as one reader suggested and also added a little creole seasoning for some heat. I omitted the tomatoes and cheese because I'm not wild about either in my eggs. I thoroughly enjoyed the dish and liked much better than egg beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
not my favourite. I found the taste bland and the consistency less than desirable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made 1/3 of the recipe with fresh tomatoes, no turmeric or cheese and added a clove of garlic and a pinch of sugar. I was looking for a Chinese egg-and-tomato replacement, but this didn't do it justice. Okay dish by itself, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I rated this recipe a 3 only because I made several modifications and used the recommendations from the other reviewers. My husband and I are not vegetarians, but currently doing P90X and were looking for a creative way to use tofu. I subbed roasted red peppers for the tomoatoes. To try and get rid of some of the water in the tofu, I crumbled the tofu and placed it in a strainer. While that sat, I sauted shallots, garlic and green onions until tender. I added 2 cups of spinach and cooked for about a minute. I then set those ingredients aside and added about 1/2 cup of egg beaters. Once the eggs were set I added in the tofu and cooked for a couple of minutes to cook out any remaining water. Next I added the spinach mixture and roasted red peppers. To flavor I added in tumeric, salt, and pepper. I didn't have cheddar cheese so grated in about 1 oz of pepper jack cheese at the end. All in all it was very tastey and high in protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Excellent- especially for my daughter who is allergic to eggs. A great alternative to the $3 box of tofu scramblers- I found if you cook then place in warm oven the consistency becomes more like scrambled eggs. Sprinkle chees at last minute. Tum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yogikat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
great option for eggs! i left out the tomatoes and it was still great. i also added baby spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
To make this totally vegan for my son and his friends I used extra firm tofu and drained the water out. Also added about half a tsp turmeric (did it by color) and then cumin, onion powder, salt and pepper to taste. Fried in vegan margarine for flavor (Nucoa works well). Cooked it for about five minutes to dry it up a bit and then crumbled some soy cheddar cheese into it. Served with avocado and tomato on the side. They totally were impressed by it and have always asked for it since when they are over for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bronxdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Tastes great, looks and tastes like scrambled eggs. The only changes I made were less tomatoes, a bit of garlic salt and onion salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Addison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was good!! Its a must to drain the liquid from the tomatos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States