Scrambled Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jennifer Price
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
OMG!! This was so much better that I anticipated. I made a few modifications. I mashed up a pack of firm organic tofu. Chopped up a med yellow onion. One small green bell pepper. One medium organic russet potato and turmeric to taste and a little sea salt. I made this for my 16 year old daughter who is very vegan and does not like tofu. She had no idea there was tofu in this dish. The only thing she asked was, " Is this fake egg?" I replied with a yes! She loved it and never knew the difference nor will I ever tell her. It is so hard to get enough protein in her with her extremely picky diet. But, this dish is a definite keeper. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Price

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Yum! So much better than scrambled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Didn't care for the turmeric taste, or how liquidy it was. Worth experimenting with though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I made this as I'm avoising eggs since i may have an intolerance to them. I think the sucess od this recipe depends on the brand of tofu you use, as their are significant taste/texture differences between them. I used "unisoya" and did not like this at all despite adding more veggies, cheese, a little soy milk and mustard powder instead of turmeric since I didn't have any. I also did a dash of salt, pepper and a little Italian seasoning. Didn't turn out this time, but may try again with a different brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Delicious and EASY!! The tumeric makes it look just like eggs! Definitely will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Quite delicious and easy! I opted to drain the tomatoes, and I'm glad I did because the tofu still had some liquid, or I would have had breakfast soup instead of a scramble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I added mushrooms to saute with the green onions. I added water the first time I cooked it and it was soupy as mentioned by someone else. I used fresh tomatoes both times and did not add any water the second time I used this recipe and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronwyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I am vegan, so do not use any dairy. You can really put anything in this; however, I use firm tofu & put through a ricer. I saute with fresh onions, peppers and garlic, then add turmeric and Braggs amino acid (or soy sauce). For breakfast, I add hash browns on the side -- very filling and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent! I made substitutions to use what was on hand: white onion ,sun dried tomatoes and v-8, and added red pepper and spinach -- it was awesome! Served it with sliced avocado on the side and hearty bread toasted. A wonderful breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This wasn't my favorite tofu scramble recipe but on average still better than most I've tried. I added garlic powder, onion powder, nutritional yeast, and a bit of soy sauce. I'd recommend letting this cook 10-20 minutes to reduce the liquid from the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States