Scrambled Egg Brunch Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This turned out great! I used the two crescent rolls to make two variations, one with sausage and cheddar and one with spinach, mushrooms and onions with goat cheese. Both came out excellent! I don't think I did a good job with the criss crossing and it still turned out looking professionally made. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My partner and I needed something for a group of friends stopping by. Searched things we had on hand, and was surprised to find this. First glance, we thought it would be heavy like a Calzone. Boy were we all surprised. Since it was more brunch time than breakfast; next time will have crab-meat or salad shrimp in the scramble. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Woolley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Rockledge, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Excellent. Didn't have ham so I used bacon pieces. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Long ago introduced to this delicious breakfast served at one of our favorite waterway cafes on its Sunday brunch menu. In spite of halving this recipe since making for two, used about 1/3 cup of peppers (blend of red bell, sweet, and jalapeno peppers). Very versatile dish where other popular breakfast meats can be subbed for the ham (we sometimes use a spicy sausage), and other veggies can be added. The reason for cutting the dough into strips is to eliminate overlapping dough since any underlying layer(s) will have a more doughy texture than the golden brown top layer. Knowing that, you can fold or cut the dough in any number of ways and still get excellent results. We serve this with a homemade finishing sauce. Served alongside some fruit, this makes for an elegant brunch. We would give this more than 5*, if possible. Thank you tiberlady for sharing this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This recipe only looks complicated, I found it very easy to do once I had got everything together. I would only add that if you are reducing the servings (I did from 6 to 3), that you not reduce the amount of butter needed for the skillet, and that you reduce the cooking time to 18-20 minutes depending on your oven, my bread was golden and ready around the 19 minute mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Loved this recipe! Looked good and tasted good. It's serves more than 6. I had 14 here for brunch, men and women and we ate two of these with some people having seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Not bad. Incredibly easy; I've done breads like this before. If you're hesitating because you think it's complicated and hard, don't. It really isn't. You can do an uneven number of slices so they don't match and it will still come out gorgeous. Since I've made very similar recipes before, I didn't worry too much about adjusting the ingredients because I didn't have everything called for. I brushed pesto on the bread first, then used a Laughing Cow cheese (2 wedges) as the cream cheese layer, used vegetarian sausage, and scrambled three eggs, put on top, then closed the loaf and baked. Tasted good, looked pretty, and was mostly eaten at a work breakfast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was an immediate hit! Requested at family gatherings for brunch, especially Christmas morning. I made the day before and baked the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I used leftover chopped up smoked ham, and I only had 7 eggs, instead of 8. I ended up baking it Friday night, then sliced it up and put it into the freezer. It reheats great in the toaster oven. The egg wash made it such a beautiful dish. I plan on making this for Christmas breakfast for my family. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
What a great recipe idea! Saw this and had to modify it to my taste. First, didnt want to make a big one so only used one can of crescent roll dough, then did the ham layer, a couple scrambled eggs (with cheese mixed in) layer and a layer of thawed frozen spinach. Sprinkled some blue cheese along the top and closed it up as directed. Brushed with butter and baked. Wow! What a great breakfast treat, Hubby and I ate all but two slices. I am thinking of several options for the filling that I will try (diced tomatos, olives, mushrooms)-the possibilities are endless. I also am thinking maybe some cream cheese filling with blueberries mixed in to make it into a type of danish. Thanks for posting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States