Scott's Pico de Gallo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
first time to make it used less lime was awesome for our fajitas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
"Make it look like the flag of Mexico" I was taught. Excellent recipe. It is made hundreds of times each day for the family tables and Mexican food restaurants of south Texas. Some thoughts about the pica (bite)--add finely chopped, seeded jalapeno or serrano or can also leave recipe as is but add a spoonful or two of a picante sauce, Pace--made in San Antonio--is excellent. To make true Texas style--make plenty--you'll need to taste to add the chile you want. Allow it to sit so flavors can marry. Buen provecho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Nice & Simple. I added extra tomatoes & still found the quantity of lime juice to be overbearing. Next time I will use 4 as well as add a jalapeño or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Valencia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Add the lime juice 1 tablespoon at a time. 3-4 Tbs (1-1/2 limes) was good for me. 6 limes and I think I would have irreversibly puckered inside out. I did add 1 seeded & stemmed jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
But I'd like to address the lime issue. I bet Scott used Mexican limes. They are really small, like half the size or smaller of a regular lime. That would explain the large quantity. Thanks, Scott.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Novick Feuille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I made this using 2 Tablespoons of lime and it was delicious. I'm not sure how big a typical bunch of cilantro is but I think I used too much. I will make this again using less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Okay I have to admit we loved this pico but I didn't come anywhere near close to using 6 limes for juice. I used one and that was good for us when tasted but thats really a matter of personal taste. I can't imagine 6 limes ever working for whats called for here but start with 1 and work your way up from there for your own perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was great! I would prefer jalapenos but for non spicy lovers...perfect :) Served on top of refried bean and chicken nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was wonderful, and my Scott likes it too. I put the ingredients in the electric chopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Excellent! Great taste, and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States