Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Not to toot my own horn, but this recipe never lets me down. To ensure proper moistness, I'll sometimes add 1/8 to 1/4 cup of a light oil to the batter before baking (especially if the relative humidity is a little on the dry side). I hope you'll find easy, versatile this recipe as tastey as my family and I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I LOVE this recipe. I have used this recipe so much (sometimes modified with a bit more sugar) and it never fails me. Its always moist and delicious. It is hearty- definitely not like those "air" boxed cakes. A tip for those that find the cake to grainy or dry: Don't use cake flour! Use all purpose! Put a little more milk in for desired consistency and moistness and by all means when mixing the butter and the sugar together go as long as 10 minutes or until it is smooth. The smoother the butter and egg are the less grainy it will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Good the first day, a bit like corn bread, but not in a bad way. With my fantastic buttercream frosting, it was great. The next day, it was WONDERFUL! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Delicious!! I used this because I needed a cake that used less than 4 eggs. This was even better than the 4 egg cake! I will keep this for sure! Light, moist, easy and tasty! I had to stop my boys from eating it all in one go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I was about to give up on making cakes from scratch until I came across this recipe. This one turned out bakery style moist. I used 3 eggs instead of two and creamed them along with the butter and sugar for 10 minutes. AngieMonty was right,the smoother the butter mixture,the smoother the cake. I also used cake flour and whole milk and baked it in round layers for exactly 40 minutes,the least amount of time called for. I frosted it with chocolate frosting and it disappeared in record time. I have found my cake recipe. Thanks Scottley!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Thank you so much for a great recipe. I made a large sheet cake with this recipe and it came out like a dream. I took the advice of the other posters and made sure the butter was very light and fluffy, which I think is key. My cake was visually stunning and super-tasty. I admit I added some yellow food coloring to the batter because I wanted it really yellow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very good basic cake recipe. I too added a couple of teaspoons of oil and added extra milk and it came out nice and moist. Since we are currently living in Africa and cake mixes are hard to come by, I will defenitely be using this recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Great recipe. Nothing like corn bread. Great when you replace part of the milk with rum, and then cover the baked cake with a mixture of rum and butter! Also keeps really well, but the cup or rum probably contributed to that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
My husband loves this cake. He keeps telling me he is on a diet. Then ask me to make this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Wonderful cake! I halved the recipe, added a bit extra milk, a little vegetable oil, and some brandy with the vanilla. Very dense yet fluffy. I slightly undercooked mine (I can't stand overbaked cake). Frosted with chocolate buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States