Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It is a great recipe, this morning I get this recipe and this afternoon I have tried it. I am a beginner and it is successful with this try out and it taste good too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I'm going to use this for a cake decorating class and was very happy to see it fall right out of the pan with a nice level surface. This was very simple to make and has an excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I think this recipe is great. I use it for basic cakes. I have tried it with both regular flour and cake flour. I prefer the cake flour as was originally required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alize

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anzfamily
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
this cake was delicious!! moist and beautiful! I used 3 eggs instead of 2, added 2 tbsp oil and 1/2 pack vanilla pudding to the flour mix. i will use this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was so good! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
The flavor of this cake was nice, but I tried to make it twice and both times it ended up pretty dense and not sweet enough. I'll try it again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
The cake was really crumbly, and mostly dry rather than moist. It also tasted like cornbread without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Made this today and this recipe was a hit with chocolate glaze drizzled over it. My only modification was that I cut down on the sugar. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
i nearly doubled the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Care_Palm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
The only changes I made to this recipe were using 1 1/2 cups icing sugar instead of the white sugar, and adding 1/4 cup milk to the batter. When I made this cake, it turned out pretty heavy. I really didn't expect that, as it is VERY humid where I live. Anyway, I was going to give this 4 stars because of the heavy batter, but I had a slice the next day, and OMG, it was SOOO good that I just had to give this 5 stars! I'll definitely make this again, maybe with an extra egg along with the 1/4 extra cup of milk. Thank you Scottley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulzers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States