Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I have never been able to successfully make a cake from scratch until I found this one. The recipe was simple and easy. To ensure moistness I added a tablespoon of oil. I also brushed on a simple syrup made with sugar, water, and lemon zest which gave it added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I love this recipe. I used it for cupcakes and they were awesome. They were light and fluffy and the tops were just a little crunchy. I will, definitely, use this recipe many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was the best yellow cake ever. I'll never buy a box yellow cake again. I didn't have cake flour so I used all purpose. I'll try again and use cake flour but it is great with all purpose. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
great cake ... if making cupcakes you only need to cook for 20 min :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Perfect because I had all the ingredients when I felt like baking cupcakes! First time making yellow cake from scratch and I'd have to say it was pretty easy! I used 1 extra egg like some suggested. And instead of a round cake I did a pan of mini cupcakes and 21 regular sized cupcakes. I'm not sure why, but when the mini cupcakes came out, there was a pocket of air at the bottom of the cupcakes. So the mini's came out even smaller than the cupcake paper. My husband thought they were a bit dry, but I think they were fine. I'm not sure if it's because it didn't have the usual cake-y consistency/texture, but I thought they were fine! Perhaps it was that I used 2% milk instead of whole milk? I'd try it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
When I was making this cake, I thought this batter is awfully thick. I baked it, let it cool. This was very dense. So dense that I bought a cake for the birthday party at work. It tasted good, but I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jecjr0726

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Really liked this recipe! Turned out light and moist. I used 1 stick butter and 1 stick margerine and creamed them with the suger for probably about 10 min. like other reviewers suggested. I used the cake flour as listed. I mixed in the flour and milk in by hand (meaning didn't use electric mixer) and tried not to over-stir. I did use 3/4 cup of flour because some people said they didn't think it was sweet enough. Might try adding some dry pudding mix to the recipe next time, just to see what that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sumner, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Wonderful cake! I made cupcakes--the recipe as posted made 24. I overbaked them a bit; 16-17 minutes probably would have ben perfect. This will be my go-to yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and baked in in a round non-stick tie pin, sprayed with coconut oil. Other than that, i used one-half of 1/3 C. of (very thick) homemade buttermilk (and the rest was just milk; I think a little yogurt replacement would have the same effect as the buttermilk). I kept in in the oven for about 33 minutes at 350 and it came out moist and VERY yummy, neither under- nor overcooked. My 2-year-old was on the upswing from a tummy virus so I made this at his request as soon as he asked. And now he's requesting more. This is just great, and I'll definitley use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States