Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This cake is so perfect! It's not way too moist like other recipes, and leaves a light, sweet buttery aftertaste. It is lacking in the sugar department (almost like a teacake) but that's not necessarily a bad thing. I like how it's not too sweet because the frosting makes up for it, and you can always add more if you want to. I followed the recipe exactly (though the second time I made it I added jimmies for a funfetti cake ;) ) I will continue to use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This recipe did not work for me. My 1st scratch cake and I'll stick to Dunkin or Betty from now on. I used all purpose flour because I didn't know there was 'cake' flour and that is the only variation. Sounds like some tweakers had success though. I would not advise for 1st time baker. Heavy and Dry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I have never been able to successfully make a cake from scratch until I found this one. The recipe was simple and easy. To ensure moistness I added a tablespoon of oil. I also brushed on a simple syrup made with sugar, water, and lemon zest which gave it added flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I love this recipe. I used it for cupcakes and they were awesome. They were light and fluffy and the tops were just a little crunchy. I will, definitely, use this recipe many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was the best yellow cake ever. I'll never buy a box yellow cake again. I didn't have cake flour so I used all purpose. I'll try again and use cake flour but it is great with all purpose. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
great cake ... if making cupcakes you only need to cook for 20 min :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Perfect because I had all the ingredients when I felt like baking cupcakes! First time making yellow cake from scratch and I'd have to say it was pretty easy! I used 1 extra egg like some suggested. And instead of a round cake I did a pan of mini cupcakes and 21 regular sized cupcakes. I'm not sure why, but when the mini cupcakes came out, there was a pocket of air at the bottom of the cupcakes. So the mini's came out even smaller than the cupcake paper. My husband thought they were a bit dry, but I think they were fine. I'm not sure if it's because it didn't have the usual cake-y consistency/texture, but I thought they were fine! Perhaps it was that I used 2% milk instead of whole milk? I'd try it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
When I was making this cake, I thought this batter is awfully thick. I baked it, let it cool. This was very dense. So dense that I bought a cake for the birthday party at work. It tasted good, but I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jecjr0726

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Really liked this recipe! Turned out light and moist. I used 1 stick butter and 1 stick margerine and creamed them with the suger for probably about 10 min. like other reviewers suggested. I used the cake flour as listed. I mixed in the flour and milk in by hand (meaning didn't use electric mixer) and tried not to over-stir. I did use 3/4 cup of flour because some people said they didn't think it was sweet enough. Might try adding some dry pudding mix to the recipe next time, just to see what that does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sumner, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States