Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made it exactly the way the recipe is written. The cake was done after 30 minutes of baking and it tasted awful. Back to the drawing board for a good recipe for Yellow Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
first of all i'd like to say, i've used many wonderful recipes from allrecipes and this is the first time i've ever left a review. this cake recipe is phenomenal and it's still in the oven! i've never baked a cake from scratch and i have never been inclined to eat raw cake batter, i could not stop licking the bowl! ok, i wanted to follow this one to a 'T' but I had to make some subs: didn't have milk so I used suggested amount half and half. also I didn't have cake flour nor a flour sifter so I used all purpose flour. eggs and half and half were cold (not room temp, as suggested by another reviewer. aside from that, i softened the butter (not marg) in microwave, creamed really well with the sugar, added eggs one at a time, added in vanilla and then blended in half and half. dumped in all dry ingredients, stirred with a spoon, then whisked for 5 minutes. it just came out of the oven and looks amazing. did i mention that the batter was outrageous?! i read all the other reviews and could not for the life of me figure out how people could get so excited over a cake! but now i know- im a believer, Scottley, you rock!!! UPDATE: just had a piece... i will never used a box again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineb63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was my first cake baked from scratch and it was a success! I followed the suggestions made by other members and added 1 extra egg and 1/4c of milk and it turned out great! I love how it has that light sweet taste - my husband and I cannot stop eating it and we both agreed we could have it WITHOUT any icing/filling because it already tastes good by itself. I only gave 4 stars because I was hoping for it to be much "fluffier", maybe I over-mixed it like the previous reviewer said. This recipe is easy and will definitely use this as my base recipe for future cake projects! Thank you so much Scottley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
In an effort to avoid box cakemixes and their hydrogenated fats I tried this recipe. OMG! It turned out perfectly. I followed the recipe with the exception of using half and half instead of milk. I find my oven bakes "hot" so I checked at 25 minutes (9.5" pans) and the toothpick came out clean. I will definitely be making this cake again! Happy birthday to my son with a winner of a bday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deetledee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shamong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is my new 'go to' cake recipe. It is always a hit and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busy mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
my first from scratch cake and it came out fantastic! Great flavor, very easy and not a lot of complex ingredients. Had to bake an additional 15 min. but that may be due to the altitude where I live. Highly recommend this recipe and will be using this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Love this cake! It always turns out perfectly for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Oh, my…in my experience this is quite possibly one of the better white cake recipes I’ve tried. In fact, I’d call it perfect, with no need to change anything let alone search for a better recipe. If you follow the directions and cream the butter and sugar to aerate the batter and give it lift, if you add the eggs one at time to keep the batter emulsified, you will get fantastic results, a superior cake. But I think that maybe some inexperienced bakers, wanting to make sure they do it right and “beat the heck” out of the butter and sugar, might actually take it too far – you CAN overbeat a cake batter! The cake is only lightly sweet, but I liked that. I don’t know who would plan to eat this without a rich, sweet frosting, and the two together create the proper creamy, moist, fluffy, sweet lusciousness you want. (And I’m not exaggerating for effect) This is light with a tender crumb – if you need a cake for sculpting or carving this would NOT be a good choice. But if you want a fluffy, light, stick-to-your-fork moist white cake, give Scottley’s a try. I baked this as cupcakes – one-half recipe makes 12 perfect cupcakes. Bake at 350 degrees, 18-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
the best basic yellow cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is a great base for a cake. I did make modifications and this cake turned out fabulous. Based on other reviews I creamed the butter and sugar very well with a mixer, and then I whipped it pretty good after adding the eggs (1/2 cup egg beaters instead of eggs). I also added 1 small pouch of pudding (any flavor that you want your cake to taste like.) I also added more milk, I could not imagine how dense the cake would have been without it, I added probably 1/2 - 3/4 cup more milk and then a splash of olive oil. Thanks to the other reviews for their suggestions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States