Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Mili T.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Excellent! My munchkin & Bo love this cake. I make this recipe as cupcakes, and it's a hit every time! I swirl in with a tooth pick a lil dab of Hershey's syrup for lil extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mili T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Good cake recipe but not quite as rich as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe and I'm not impressed. I agree with other posters that it is a very good sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
It did not taste like yellow cake. It tastes more like a sugar cookie. It was very sweet . Although it did not taste like yellow cake, it was VERY VERY soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I thought this was a very good cake batter. Its excellent for adding fruit to!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
It tasted fantastic but it fell while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is the best from-scratch yellow cake I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I really liked this recipe! Doesn't look like anything special from ingredients, but it was moist and very tasty!! Quick and easy and had all ingredients in my pantry. I added about 2 tablespoons of olive oil last minute to the batter and it helped Im sure of it. I will use this recipe over and over again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyric1
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
It was an absolute hit! The directions were very easy to follow and took no time. The cake cooked up just right, not too dense, and the perfect sweetness. In fact, I just made this tonight and my boys have made sure that it's already halfway gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
UPDATE|. I made this cake again using cake flour. The batter was much lighter but still very thick. I used 9" pans this time. The cake did not rise very much this time either. The flavor was just as good. So...I am still on the fence. 1st review: I'm on the fence with this recipe. The taste was good. I whipped the butter and sugar (butter was room temp) until it was very very fluffy. Next time I would not use 9" cake pans. They turned out pretty flat. The cake batter was VERY thick. I was very hesitant. With the exception of using all purpose flour, I followed the recipe to a T. I will make again and will use cake flour next time. Overall it was a good recipe---definitely better than a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo

Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States