Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Ive made this countless of times. its awesome. I always use it when a recipe calls for a box cake, but does anyone know if the amount of batter is equal to a regular box cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
It had a nice flavor but it came out so dry it was practically crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMJESS2588

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was a great, simple recipe. No complaints. I might add a little sugar next time and a tad more vanilla. Very light and fluffy. Definitely a keeper. Thank you soo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dahneshia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Photo by Mili T.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Excellent! My munchkin & Bo love this cake. I make this recipe as cupcakes, and it's a hit every time! I swirl in with a tooth pick a lil dab of Hershey's syrup for lil extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mili T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Good cake recipe but not quite as rich as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe and I'm not impressed. I agree with other posters that it is a very good sponge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
It did not taste like yellow cake. It tastes more like a sugar cookie. It was very sweet . Although it did not taste like yellow cake, it was VERY VERY soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I thought this was a very good cake batter. Its excellent for adding fruit to!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
It tasted fantastic but it fell while cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is the best from-scratch yellow cake I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States