Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
UPDATE|. I made this cake again using cake flour. The batter was much lighter but still very thick. I used 9" pans this time. The cake did not rise very much this time either. The flavor was just as good. So...I am still on the fence. 1st review: I'm on the fence with this recipe. The taste was good. I whipped the butter and sugar (butter was room temp) until it was very very fluffy. Next time I would not use 9" cake pans. They turned out pretty flat. The cake batter was VERY thick. I was very hesitant. With the exception of using all purpose flour, I followed the recipe to a T. I will make again and will use cake flour next time. Overall it was a good recipe---definitely better than a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Photo by andrea
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My family loved it! We added our own sprinkles to the mix and made into Easter muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The cake taste good and I followed the recipe to the exact ingredient but the cake didn't really rise. Maybe its me or maybe it's missing baking soda as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Love it! I use it for every cake from pineapple up-side down cake to lemon, strawberry, chocolate cupcakes. I even use it for the base of my rum and Irish cream cakes. And they all get rave reviews! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsQtpi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I am new with baking. Tried the recipe for the first time and cake came out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
OMgoodies. This cake could not be any moister. Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! The texture of this cake was like one purchased from a specialty bakery. It's one of those cakes that makes you wonder each time you take a bite, "how do they get it to be so moist"? Well darn-it I now know. For those complaining about it being too dry, it's because you're over mixing the batter. A hard cake is the result of over mixing even the best batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
When i made this my mother and i were looking for something that wasn't a boxed cake for our Christmas dessert. I made chocolate frosting to go with it and it was the best cake we've had on our table in years. Everyone was pleased! Next i'm going to try using it to make a pineapple upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this into cupcakes for my son's first birthday party. He loved it! For cupcakes I cooked them at 350 degrees for about 22 minutes and they were perfect. I got lots of compliments. Way better than boxed cake mix! I also used the "Butter Cream Frosting II" recipe here on allrecipes for the frosting. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Excellent basic cake recipe. A little on the dense side, but that's perfect for me because I was using it to sculpt a train cake for a birthday party. Simple, easy to make, and not too "eggy". Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This turned out beautifully! I made it for a pineapple upside down cake. I used 1/2c butter 1/2c shortening and added 3 tbsp of oil and creamed it for about 10 mins. Added eggs one at a time mixing well after each then fold in flour and milk careful not to over mix. I made this for a family dinner, everyone was surprised at how good it tasted. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States