Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I followed directions exactly! This cake turned out wonderful for frosting, and did not taste bad (nothing like cornbread, where do people get this?) The only thing I thought was wrong with it was how bland it was to me? But this maybe because I have never had, much less made a cake from scratch! My only suggestion would be to add more flavoring or sugar perhaps? I'm a new baker and do not know how to add sugar and flavoring without messing the whole thing up? Any suggestions?!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibbyCorysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I was looking for a cake from scratch recipe. I tried this recipe because it had rave reviews. I made it three times, and every time it was extremely dry. The comments that I got were that the taste was good, but it was too dry. I myself felt that it was too heavy (not light or airy) despite whipping the butter and sugar and sifting the flour. I do believe that this could be a good pound cake recipe or may serve as a "tres leches" cake base. I will try it again but will add more milk/water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almalunita
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Amazingly moist and just the right amount of density! I cut the ingredients in half because all I had was one 10x10. Used 125 grams (a little over 1/2 cup) butter, since butter often comes in 250 gram blocks in Czech. and I just cut it in half. I also used 2 eggs and added one tablespoon of veggie oil since there were some comments about moistness. I also added a bit more sugar (less than 1/4 cup) because I forgot and added the sugar in with the flour mixture rather than with the butter as instructed, so I used it to help whip the butter. In my opinion it needed that extra sugar to be a little more sweet. I also don't have an electric beater yet so I let the butter reach room temperature and whipped it with a fork, it's hard work but it turns out just fine! I had some instant chocolate frosting and swirled it into the batter before baking, it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is a great recipe! I read all of the reviews before so I put in 3 eggs and a little extra milk. Next time I make this I won't cook it as long. At the most 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellysmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I had given up on fiding a "from scratch" cake recipe that was moist and delicious - and then I found this recipe!! I only gave it four stars because I did make a few changes to the recipe. I added two tablespoons of vegetqable oil, an extra egg and a small envelope of instant vanilla pudding mix. I've made this recipe twice and my friends can't stop raving about them! I used Wilton's recipe for Buttercream Icing with meringue powder to ice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
The first cake my husband has made on his own and it was delicious! I have started using the recipe as well - on its own, and as the based for a coffee cake. It's easy, moist, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is the best scratch yellow cake recipe I have found so far! I gave it a try despite seeing some poor reviews and was pleasantly surprised. I'm a cake decorator always looking to improve on the cakes I make, and this recipe is my new found winner. I was not disappointed, especially when my customers compliment the cake. I would suggest for the ones who gave this a poor review to give the recipe another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I hadn't attempted to make cake from scratch for about 10 years and was finally ready to try again so as to avoid the box of chemicals. I have made this recipe several times now. The first time I made it without any changes. It tasted good but it was dry and cornbread like. Since then, I add more milk and extra vanilla. I also reduced the bake time by 5 or 10 minutes depending on my oven. The taste and texture was 100% better. Next time I will try this in a 9x13 pan and cut the bake time by another 5 minutes. Then it should be perfect! I always make this cake with the following 2 recipes found on this site: Quick and Almost Professional Buttercream Icing http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Quick-and-Almost-Professional-Buttercream-Icing/Detail.aspx And The filling from Almond Cream Puff Ring http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Almond-Cream-Puff-Ring/Detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I wanted to make a plain yellow cake to layer under strawberries & whipped cream. This is it! I so dislike what passes for cake in stores and mixes. Too much sugar and chemical taste. I made half the recipe, but kept it at 2 eggs and only put in 1/2 cup of sugar (that would be a cup for a whole recipe). It was perfect. I don't need all that sugar in the cake since I'm putting sweet stuff on top anyway. This is going in my top ten desserts. It is easy to make (not a lot of prep time) and it tastes like cake did when I was a kid. Thanks for a great old-fashioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julcat51
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This recipe was just ok. I was really looking for a great moist homemade yellow cake. It gets really crumbly if you put it in the fridge. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States