Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
These are amazing. Do not need to knead! Much better with brown sugar vs. white sugar. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I thought this recipe was very bland. I always do a prototype baking and after tasting it, I added 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also melted a few tablespoons of butter and added that because the cookies were very "floury" tasting. I'm glad I didn't waste a whole batch before I tested them. After the adjustments they were much better, but I'll look for a better shortbread recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Tastes great! My husband loved this recipe, but it's soooo unhealthy, you might as well eat a cube of butter rolled in brown sugar... lol!!! It is very easy to make and very yummy, but don't indulge too much, definitely not a healthy treat :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Made these to go with some homemade strawberry froxen yogurt. They turned out light and crispy with a rich flavor. The second pan baked for 3 minutes over the 25 and were definately overdone, but are great dunkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Made shortbread for the first time today using this recipe :) Thank you so much because they turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
This recipe is fairly authentic, but way too much butter - which meant it was too heavy and greasy. I found an alternative British recipe with 8z butter, 4z sugar, 12z flour baked at 350F for 30mins which gave much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Americaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Dipped half in milk chocolate! Oh my goodness these are so good. The flavor is perfect with the brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Made exactly as the recipe calls for. The first time they burned even tho I only had them on for 20mins, so i ended up throwing the whole batch away. The second time I watched them very closely and it only took about 15-17mins for them to be done. I was really excited to make these since I love shortbread, but these did not come out good at all, all they tasted like to me was flour (and I used dark brown sugar for more flavor) Im not sure what went wrong :( They did not have a nice texture either. I do plan on making this recipe again, but altering the amount of flour or something like that and will update when I do. But for now :( im really bummed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitín'11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
AWESOME RECIPE!!! I reduced the amount of flour to 4 cups and made cookies instead of cutting the dough into strips. Twenty (20) minutes turned out to be the ideal amount of time for baking in my oven. They came out perfectly! And they are delicious! THANK YOU!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyluna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These are my favorite short bread cookies. I make them as directed, except that I shape them like regular cookies. I usually end up using about 4 cups of flour unless I am rolling them out to make actual shapes, then I use a little more. I bake them for about 20 minutes, though I have figured out "just" the color I like them and try to watch the last few minutes to be sure. These are so delicious with coffee or hot tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States