Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Loved this. All I had was Dark brown sugar so used it. And I also dipped half the cookies in Choc. which really made the cookie perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
So good! These shortbread cookies rival store bought brands! I halved the recipe, used one stick of margarine & one stick of butter and added 1/4 teaspoon of salt and vanilla. I also put the dough in the freezer for 15 minutes or so before cutting and baking. This made it much easier to cut and made the cookies I credibly flaky. Yummy! I'm not sure how much my tweaks helped the recipe but I can tell you that the cookies I ended up with are simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I made these heavenly shortbread bars then dipped one end of each in melted dark chocolate, sprinkled with crushed Candy Canes on 1/2 batch and chopped hazelnuts on the other 1/2 batch. I recently have moved to a small northern community and decided to give these along with my other Christmas cookies as neighbourly gifts... I am now the talk of the town! One person even started to cry after only one bite. Linda, you are my hero for sharing this great idea ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SXCLADE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
these are pretty good, but I'm really missing the melt-in-your mouth texture of the recipe made with cornstarch and icing sugar. Not sure if I'll make these again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyTiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
If I make these again, I'll probably cut the amount of flour in half. These tasted a little more doughy than I would've liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is the perfect recipe. My family has used it for generations. No, it isn't the light fluffy kind, Scottish Shortbread isn't supposed to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Best and easiest shortbread recipe ever! I followed the recipe exactly, only changing the baking time as all ovens are different. The cookies came out perfect! Great recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I have been looking for the perfect shortbread recipe, and I think this might be it! I have never thought or heard of using brown sugar, but the results were perfect. I quartered the recipe (1 stick butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar & 1 cup flour) as I did not want to have too many cookies. I beat in my stand mixer rather than kneading and rolling out the dough. Then I scooped and rolled about 2 teaspoons of dough into a ball, pushed down with fingers and cris-crossed with a fork and baked about 20 minutes. This made a dozen nice sized cookies as good as any shortbread you can buy. Next I might make a whole batch and dividing and add some chopped crystallized ginger, lemon zest and/or chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I just made these. OH. MY. GOSH! They are melt-in-your-mouth fantastic! Wow! I halved the recipe to make half a batch. According to other reviews I added a sprinkle of salt and about 1/2 t of vanilla... this are soooo wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
These were so easy to make and turned out pretty good! I wish I had read the reviews about freezing the dough first before cutting and baking. If I had known that instruction before making this recipe, it would have made it tons easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States