Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have to try again: I mean, they were good, and my family was impressed all right, and I got compliments. But I (a big devourer of Walkers, and eager to have my own) found them somewhat lacking: is it the salt that's missing? was it the handling (by hand and so perhaps not evenly mixed)? the rest in the fridge, which honestly I didn't allow? don't know. So to be fair I'll give them another chance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe was just what I was looking for. My other half loves the shortbread rounds from Disney World, they are made in Scotland by Walker shortbread. I was trying to find a recipe which produced something which closely resembled the taste of those cookies. These were it, I even stamped them with Mickey Mouse heads. He loved them he said that the taste was almost identical and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
WOW…..I have been making shortbread for over 20 years and this recipe is far better than the one I used. Just 3 ingredients and WALLA…pure heaven !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Soooo Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I used LauraCA1212's suggestions, adding vanilla and a little salt (I cut the recipes into fourths, so I only used a pinch). This was delicious and very satisfying. I would have given it five stars, except that I think it needed a little more liquid. It crumbled coming out of the pan and had to be eaten with a spoon. But the flavor was so good I didn't mind. The brown sugar is a great improvement over other recipes, and I loved how buttery this shortbread tasted. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is my "go to" shortbread recipe for the holidays. There isn't a crumb left whenever I bring a plate in to work. The brown sugar makes for a deep, rich flavor. I cut the amount of flour down to 4 cups. I use whatever real butter I have in the house - unsalted yields a more delicate flavor. I spray a 9x13" glass pan with non-stick baking spray. Then I prepare the dough as directed (using softened butter), pat it into the pan with my fingers, and prick the top with a fork (shortbread releases steam as it bakes). My tip: sprinkle the top with white sugar before baking (slightly caramelizes for a nice little crunch!). Then bake as directed. While still warm from the oven, I slice the shortbread into about 30 fingers with a very sharp knife. Then I place the pan on a wire rack and cool completely. Break up & store in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotmom99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KelseyBeth
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
They are wonderful! I'm so pleased with the buttery sweet flavor :) I couldn't ask for a better or easier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes to bring to gatherings. The rich, delicious shortbread is a perfect addition to any potluck. Instead of making individual cookies on a cookie sheet, I press the shortbread dough into a greased brownie pan and serve it in bars. The recipe really is quite flexible. An addition that I rather enjoy is a splash of vanilla. It goes incredibly well with the richness of the brown sugar. One bizarre thing that I have noted is that some people cannot stand the taste of shortbread. My brother is one of those people. He hates it when I make the shortbread, because he says it gives him a headache, even though the taste is good. Nearly everyone else who has tried it enjoys it, but it would seem there are some poor souls who can't tolerate shortbread. Two thumbs up for brown sugar shortbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe.!!! Love it, is a keeper!!! They remind me of Christmas time in England. My husband used to buy boxes of shortbread cookies and we ate them with a cuppa of English tea in cold days. I've baked these cookies for teachers in Christmas time and they love them. I'm glad I came across this recipe they are soft and crumbly, the texture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I love making this shortbread recipe. The dough is fabulous to work with. The brown sugar adds a wonderful flavor. So much better than store bought shortbread. Absolutely no need to add a single ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States