Scottish Shortbread IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
perfect! followed recipe so simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
THIS SHORTBREAD IS AMAZING!!!! I made this for the annual cookie exchange and everyone has asked for the recipe! I did tweak this a little bit according to other reviews, adding a pinch of salt and 1 tsp of vanilla. I also ran out of brown sugar so had to substitute with white. 4 cups of flour was the perfect amount, I actually thought it was a little crumbly but they didn't break so it all worked out. I rolled it into balls, topped with sugar and then pressed them down with a glass. They were done in 15 minutes and so amazing. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have made this receipt numerous of times and every time it comes out perfect. Now this is part of my Christmas gift to all my friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Just like my Scottish grandmother used to make! I used 3 cups of flour, and rolled the dough out to 1/2 thickness, then used a shot glass to cut out circles. I placed half of a red glacé cherry on top (like my dad used to do). They turned out buttery, with just the right consistency; not too crunchy, not too soft. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have to try again: I mean, they were good, and my family was impressed all right, and I got compliments. But I (a big devourer of Walkers, and eager to have my own) found them somewhat lacking: is it the salt that's missing? was it the handling (by hand and so perhaps not evenly mixed)? the rest in the fridge, which honestly I didn't allow? don't know. So to be fair I'll give them another chance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe was just what I was looking for. My other half loves the shortbread rounds from Disney World, they are made in Scotland by Walker shortbread. I was trying to find a recipe which produced something which closely resembled the taste of those cookies. These were it, I even stamped them with Mickey Mouse heads. He loved them he said that the taste was almost identical and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlyn Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
WOW…..I have been making shortbread for over 20 years and this recipe is far better than the one I used. Just 3 ingredients and WALLA…pure heaven !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Soooo Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I used LauraCA1212's suggestions, adding vanilla and a little salt (I cut the recipes into fourths, so I only used a pinch). This was delicious and very satisfying. I would have given it five stars, except that I think it needed a little more liquid. It crumbled coming out of the pan and had to be eaten with a spoon. But the flavor was so good I didn't mind. The brown sugar is a great improvement over other recipes, and I loved how buttery this shortbread tasted. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States