Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yum! Incredibly easy and delicious! This is a keeper. I baked at 350 for 30 minutes; next time I might leave it in the oven a few minutes longer, but otherwise, I followed the recipe and it came out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnyslippers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I tried to fine my mother's scottish shortbread recipe which I've lost - and this is the closest thing to it. Use 1 full cup of butter instead to make it less crumbly, and of course, much more buttery. That's how I remember it, so take it or leave it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I really love shortbread, so this was super disappointing. The flaws are mostly in the method, but here are a few remedies. Start w/cold butter cut into 1/2"-1" pieces pulsed w/the flour. The missing salt is really noticeable. It needs at least 1/4 tsp of salt, maybe even 1/2 tsp (haven't tried that much yet). Refrigerating for an hour or before shaping/baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shrinking Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made these today with my daughter. Delicious! We made three batches, added mini chocolate chips to one and mini Andes mint chips to the other. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
excellent flavor, a little different texture than the ones i buy at the store but thats ok. I added a little extra sugar and it turned out wonderful. YUM! Made a batch last night, will probably make one today too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Wonderful cookie! I added 2 Tbs of dutch cocoa and 1 tsp vanilla to the batter, and they came out wonderfully--not too sweet, with a nice chocolate flavor! I also baked them at 300 degrees for 30 minutes, and that seems just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Fabulous! Can't believe I had never made shortbread. This is the perfect way to start! I think next time I'll make a parchment sling so it comes out of the pan more easily. I baked it for 28 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I have been making and eating shortbread all my life. It has to be my favorite biscuit of all time. I did have to make a charge to this recipe. Personally using brown sugar, I find the taste is not correct. Instead of the brown sugar use white sugar. These taste far more superior and more like the traditional shortbread from England and Scotland. Make sure you don't over bake, a shortbread biscuit should be pale, it will firm as soon as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
pretty good flavor but sort of missing something, next time i think sprinkling it with raw sugar on top might help a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisisjusttosay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I send my husband to work with this sometimes, never a bad review from his coworkers yet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wayman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States