Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Fabulous! Can't believe I had never made shortbread. This is the perfect way to start! I think next time I'll make a parchment sling so it comes out of the pan more easily. I baked it for 28 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I have been making and eating shortbread all my life. It has to be my favorite biscuit of all time. I did have to make a charge to this recipe. Personally using brown sugar, I find the taste is not correct. Instead of the brown sugar use white sugar. These taste far more superior and more like the traditional shortbread from England and Scotland. Make sure you don't over bake, a shortbread biscuit should be pale, it will firm as soon as they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
pretty good flavor but sort of missing something, next time i think sprinkling it with raw sugar on top might help a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisisjusttosay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I send my husband to work with this sometimes, never a bad review from his coworkers yet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wayman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is your basic shortbread recipe. A little bland. Next time I will add some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These are softer than I would like. I am thinking of clarifying my butter to create a more crisp cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Very easy and yummy and it made my 6 year old daughter so proud that she baked such a great snack ! Thanks for sharing.. made no adjustments whatsoever.. perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This is a fabulous easy recipe. To bring down the glycemic level I used honey instead of sugar and it worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I don't eat dairy, so I used Earth Balance Buttery Sticks instead of butter...probably a slightly different consistency in the end, but it was still delicious. I baked in a springform pan and added about 2 T lavender flowers, plus a sprinkle of powdered sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
its a bit sticky when i followed the recipe, so i had to add a bit more flour to make it more manageable. My friend raved about it. i am not sure how it will turn out if i stick to the recipe but i turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States