Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I was looking for a traditional recipe and this is it. I do add a pinch of salt (as my Scottish nana taught me). i make mine in muffin tins so i have easy portions made. and i use my food processor for all the mizing (cream the butter, sugar and salt and then slowly add the flour). People rave about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
How many things in life turn out just right? This is one of them -- the sweetness, richness, firm yet crumbly texture all evenly balance to make this as close to perfection as you're likely to ever get. A great addition to our holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I loved how easy it was to mix together and put into the pan to bake. I doubled the recipe and it came out fantastic. Just a couple of tweeks - 1. I baked at 300F for 35 minutes and they came out fine. Can't wait to make it again. I will be giving it away for Christmas this year and just know our friends and family will enjoy this beautiful shortbread. Thanks Cheryl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lougagne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe came out exactly as promised. Because the dough is so stiff, I turned it out onto a pastry cloth to work in the rest of the flour - much easier than trying to stir it in. What a treat to have homemade shortbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Banner Elk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I added 1 tsp. of vanilla, but that was the only change I made, and it is just perfect! I baked in a 9 in. round pan at 350º for 30-35 mins or so, just until barely golden. Thank you for the great recipe! I'll be making this more often than my hips would like, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKMARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I enjoyed this simple recipe! I read some of the other reviews, and baked at 350 for 30 mins and let cool, I sprinkled sugar ontop after 20 mins of baking and added a ts of vanilla. I used a pizza cutter to make sqaures and the shortbread squares came out perfect! Will make a lemon glaze or dip in chocolate and nuts next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
pretty good. Really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
these were awesome - i doubled the batch and put them i glass baking dishes - 300 degrees for 40 mins. i did add about a tablespoon of mexican vanilla extract and one teaspoon of salt. i put the dishes in the fridge after coming out of the oven for about 20 minutes and they were easy to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
If you like shortbread you'll love this recipe. I have made it twice and it is was simple and perfect both tries. I can see adding to this basic recipe easily if you wanted to add any special twits to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gberdan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this for my family and they told me I could definitely make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States