Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Absolutely Fantastic! EASY, SIMPLE, DELICIOUS AND INCREDIBLE COST-SAVING RECIPE! I've been spending a fortune on buying those big red tins since I was little but I will be able to save more than $400 a year!! (yeah..I am addicted..) I strongly recommend this recipe to ALL! Thanks for sharing this precious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This simple shortbread is exactly what I was looking for: no fuss, delicious, and what I consider to be the real deal (though I'm not Scottish...). But adjustments / additional instructions to the recipe are necessary: Since there is no time listed for baking in the recipe, I would recommend keeping an eye on the shortbread after just a few minutes. I'm not sure how long mine took to bake, because all of a sudden I turned around and the edges were browning. Just be sure to keep an eye on the shortbread in the oven and you'll have delicious shortbread! Also, you might want to consider cutting the wedges before baking, and then cutting them again while the shortbread is still at least a little bit warm, or I believe you'll risk crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have baked this shortbread, two times now, and I really like the flavor. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla for a little uumph. This a quick recipe and very good, I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Im sorry but I was disappointed in this recipe. I saw all the great reviews and thought for sure this would be close to how my mum used to make them. She was from Scotland . her shortbread was wonderful and full of a buttery flavour. No one like them and compare them to paste...not being mean just honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I haven't made shortbread in years. This recipe turned out pretty good, EXCEPT it doesn't say how long to bake. I checked every 10 minutes & finally took them out of the oven after 35 minutes. I should have baked another 5 or 10 minutes. I used a round, glass pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
The BEST shortbread recipe I have ever come across, almost better than the original Scottish Shortbread you buy in those fancy tins!!! Always works out perfectly, even though I often triple the recipe. I usually make them as round biscuits and sprinkle lightly with sugar (warning, these disappear far too fast!) just make sure you use REAL butter for the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Just what I hoped for light, buttery, sandy ... One question: When I pat the dough into the pan, how can I make the top nice and smooth? Mine came out a little ugly , due to my uneven patting! And I doubled the recipe too and thought it turned out fine; I used a larger baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Very easy and delicious recipe. Tastes like everything I remember from my Scottish neighbors. In variations I have added 1/2tsp vanilla and 1/4tsp almond. I have also doubled the recipe, reduce temp to 300 and cook for 50 minutes. I will be making it this holiday season with preserves in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is better than my favorite red box brand Scottish shortbread cookies. Added 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1/8 tsp almond extract. My kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Have tried other shortbread cookies from this site and I think these are the easiest! I don't have a cookie press and normally I had to use a small glass to cut out cookies and they were VERY delicate. I flattened the dough in a round 9" springform pan and it was super easy... the hard part is waiting for them to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States