Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
adding 1 egg white helps it stay together but doesn't change the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I've made this my go-to shortbread recipe and use the food processor as I do for pie crust. Quick, easy, and just like Scotland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The first time I tried the recipe I didn't have enough butter so I tried to make a half batch and it came out terrible. I tried again yesterday with the full ingredients and it came out perfect. I made small round balls then flattened them and pricked them with a fork. They smell and taste as good as Walker's brand. My father likes them better than Walker's. I will be using this recipe often. I love that it's so simple with only 3 ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Traditional Scottish shortbread- delicious! I doubled the recipe, and divided it between 3 8-inch cake pans, prick the dough and bake 20 min. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Couldn't be simpler! And tastes like the real deal. We've visited Scotland a couple of times, once on the isle of Skye at the Hebridean Hotel Broadford. Their shortbread was made fresh daily and was always in a tin covered in castor sugar. Their recipe was too large for me to convert but this recipe of Cheryl O's has pretty much nailed it! I sprinkle sugar on it before it bakes and when I take it out. Just shake off the excess. Works beautifully in silicone bakeware, just don't slice too deep! Hard, expensive Walker's is history in this house! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
As written 4 stars. After following another reviewer's advice for very traditional Scottish shortbread, I WEIGHED 2oz sugar, 4oz butter and 6oz flour and put it in a round pie pan, this was PERFECT. Cut into wedges while it was hot. Let it cool a bit, and it was crispy outside, tender inside, flavorful and buttery. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made two batches of this, one following the recipe exactly and the other following the most helpful positive review (2oz sugar, 4oz butter, 6or flour, 300C for 30mins). They both turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Quick and simple recipe for shortbread buttery goodness. I made this late one night when I was itching to bake but only had a few basic ingredients on hand. Followed this recipe exactly, even used a 9 x 9 glass pan. Important to wait until it cools before cutting. I also sprinkled nutmeg on top before putting it into the oven, which perfected the recipe for me. This is a fairly traditional shortbread, texture is slightly crumbly but it still melts in your mouth. Will definitely be making again this year for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romapu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
First time making shortbread. enjoyed it and the taste was pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Delicious!! I think this is better than the Walker's shortbread cookies since it is so buttery and light. The cookie just melts in your mouth. I made this everyday for a week and then I made a double batch to see if it would last a little longer. No such luck. It lasted about a day. I am going to try adding some mini chocolate chips to my next batch to see how they turn out. The only problem with this recipe is that the cookies are so good you will eat more than you should. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. In some of the reviews, people have said that they added salt. I use salted butter and found that this recipe is wonderful exactly as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States