Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is exactly the way shortbread should taste! Well done!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Biesecker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlstadt, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Montrose, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The taste was great, made as is.. and topped with homemade peach and pecan preserves. I only gave it 3 stars because I did let it cool completely and it was still too crumbly and ugly, they were supposed to be my dish for the Easter potluck tomorrow and now have to make something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Excellent, simple but delicious recipe for traditional Scottish shortbread. Made just as described, and all came out perfectly. I use the kitchenaid for most of it, then mix in the final bit of flour by hand. Recently put in some green food coloring to serve on St. Patrick's Day - Celtic roots....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I make these for Christmas every year and they are always a hit. Make sure to not over cook them, it's a fine line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyphantomhive
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious! I added 1/4tsp of salt and refrigerated the dough for an hour before cutting it into small cookies. They cooked in about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Very good. I grew up in Scotland and have eaten a lot of shortbread. I like to use Kerrygold butter which is an Irish butter. It can be found here in the US. In Scotland we use "caster sugar" which is a finer sugar than the regular kind. I found some "superfine" sugar here which seems to be the same. This requires just the right amount of baking time, so know the idiosyncrasies of your oven and work with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Goodbye store-bought shortbread!!!! This was wonderful and easy. I followed the advice of another reviewer and "cut" cold butter in and mixed with fingertips until crumbly. I didn't have the right size pan so I made them into cookies by squishing a tablespoon full into a ball then pressing it down with a fork. They still came out flaky and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a good basic shortbread recipe but it is better if you substitute 2 tbsp of the flour with rice flour. Also, shortbread sould age for a few days before eating and that way it is not nearly as crumbly. Have been making many types of shortbreads for years and they will keep for weeks in a covered tin just on the shelf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West York, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States