Scottish Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was so easy and quick to make. And the taste is wonderful! Much better than anything store bought. They are creamy, buttery, and have just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trina's Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe is the most simple and best for shortbread. It's exactly as my grandmother and mother made. The real secret is salted butter. Other recipes call for unsalted and it's just not the same. I use salted butter in all my cookies. I did increase the sugar by two tablespoons after I tasted the butter/sugar mixture. Once I combined the ingredients, I added about a cup of roughly chopped pecans. Total baking time was probably about 22 min in my gas oven. My husband is in awe. Thank you for bringing me back to some great moments growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
HOLY COW THESE ARE AWESOME!! Tastes just like Walker's Scottish Shortbread you can buy in the store...only better and cheaper! I tweaked the recipe and used brown sugar and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I also whipped my butter and brown sugar together before adding the vanilla and flour. They were crumbly if you try to cut them while warm - let them cool overnight and then cut them. Not crumbly and extremely decadent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amina Ayadi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is exactly the way shortbread should taste! Well done!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Biesecker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlstadt, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Montrose, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The taste was great, made as is.. and topped with homemade peach and pecan preserves. I only gave it 3 stars because I did let it cool completely and it was still too crumbly and ugly, they were supposed to be my dish for the Easter potluck tomorrow and now have to make something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Excellent, simple but delicious recipe for traditional Scottish shortbread. Made just as described, and all came out perfectly. I use the kitchenaid for most of it, then mix in the final bit of flour by hand. Recently put in some green food coloring to serve on St. Patrick's Day - Celtic roots....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I make these for Christmas every year and they are always a hit. Make sure to not over cook them, it's a fine line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyphantomhive
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious! I added 1/4tsp of salt and refrigerated the dough for an hour before cutting it into small cookies. They cooked in about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Very good. I grew up in Scotland and have eaten a lot of shortbread. I like to use Kerrygold butter which is an Irish butter. It can be found here in the US. In Scotland we use "caster sugar" which is a finer sugar than the regular kind. I found some "superfine" sugar here which seems to be the same. This requires just the right amount of baking time, so know the idiosyncrasies of your oven and work with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States