Scottish Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Absolutley lovely! I just made some and its lovely and crumbly and buttery - just what I want in a shortbread. Very easy recipe too, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
i absolutely love this recipe. I changed a few things. I added just a bit more salt and i cut them round and rolled the edges in sugar. I find if you have trouble rolling this dough out, it helps to chill it for about 30 minutes first, then try rolling it out. I've made shortbread before and this was almost exactly what i was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnichole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
WOW! I just pulled a couple of batches of this shortbread out of the oven. It is absolutely perfect, and I have never made shortbread before. I needed something quick and easy for a last-minute bake sale and this took no time whatsoever and tastes incredible. I doubled the recipe and added about 2 tsp of lemon extract. My house smells heavenly right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These are amazing!! So Easy,So delicious! I made a chocolate frosting for them but that was unnecessary. Perfect with tea and/coffee. Hard to go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great recipe...the dough is difficult to work with (crumbly as shortbread dough should be). Solution: This dough recipe can be made ahead of time. These make GREAT party treats or gifts if you can make them more "eye appealing". Here is how: Transfer the dough to a gallon-sized plastic bag. Place the bag on a flat work surface, leaving the top open. Roll the dough into a 9 x 10 1/2-inch rectangle that is about 1/4 inch thick. As you roll, turn the bag occasionally and lift the plastic from the dough so it doesn’t cause creases. When the dough has reached the desired size and thickness, seal the bag pressing out as much excess air as possible, and refrigerate the dough for at least 2 hours, or up to 2 days. When ready to bake, put the plastic bag on a cutting board and slit it open. Discard the bag. Using a ruler (or eye ball it) as a guide, cut the dough into 1 1/2-inch squares. Transfer the squares to baking sheets. Add ins to try in this basic recipe: 1 tbsp espresso powder dissolved in 1 tbsp boiling water and mini chocolate chips (yum) Or crasins and chopped cashews or almonds When using add ins- decrease oven temp to 325 and bake twice as long (16-17 min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I love this shortbread. I cream the sugar and butter (and a little almond extract) for a very very long time. I find this is successful both as a pan shortbread or rolled and cut out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
A good recipe. Rolls out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Hi! I recently made these cookies they were really good but I had to add another 2 cups of flour to be able to roll them at least. They took longer to cook but that was fine I will use it again they were delicious! great cut out cookies for making with your kids maybe I will add more icing sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Personally I did not enjoy this recipe. I read the reviews and took all the tips under advisement. These were just not how I am used to shortbread tasting. To me shortbread is buttery and flavorful and these, to me, tasted more like baked cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedPowerLady

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States