Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
First of all I double this recipe as I eat a few at a time. 2nd of all I have really played around with this recipe and I just took a batch out of the oven! This so far is my favorite. Now just understand I work out a lot and try to eat as nutritionally healthy as I can. This is my tweaked recipe; I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour, I use lt. brown sugar instead of white sugar, I use 3 tbl. butter instead of a 1/2 cup and replace the rest with applesauce. I add maybe a little more applesauce because I like the moistness it offers, and lastly I don't use currants I use frozen blueberries cuz I love em!They make the scones a litte funny in color but I don't mind. I have used rice flour ick, soy flour and white together, was ok, but these wheat ones are the best! I also shoot a shot of honey in just because I like it. I have used craisins, dried nectarines, all sorts of dried fruit but I still like the frozen blueberries the best. I am sure these scones are great as is, I just try to change recipes around for my liking sometimes. This one was fun and I thank Carol for first submitting it! Jodie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
These are the best scones I have ever eaten. Period. I made a few modifications. I added one julienned Granny Smith apple (skin-on), 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/8 tsp ground cloves. Before putting them in the oven I also sprinkled the tops with cinnamon and coarse sugar. YUMMMMMM!!! I had to try one when they first came out because they smelled so good, and then I couldn't resist eating another one right away! I took the rest into work *the next day* (how many scones are still great the next day??) and everybody loved them as much as I did. A++++ recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I added a 1/2 teaspoon of maple flavoring extract, and used walnuts instead of currants. I also used the "Sugar cookie glaze" recipe from this site (with maple flavoring), and the resulting scone was just like my husband's favorite cookie from Starbuck's. Since we live in China, we don't get by there too often :) Karen in China
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
My family loved these! I added dried cranberries instead of currants and a tablespoon of orange zest. I also put an orange glaze on top. They were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Yummy! I too used fat free milk and reduced fat margarine, and dried cranberries instead of currants. These scones have a nice oat taste to them, and are very easy to make. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This has got to be the easiest scone ever to make!! No need to roll out the dough and fiddle with the cutters and all. It's absolutely delicious, from the 2nd try on, you can almost make it with your eyes closed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
ACK! Dry, heavy, tasteless. Try less oats, more flour? I made a batch, choked down one for breakfast, and threw out the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Subbed maple syrup for some of the milk and they turned out okay. A bit dry, though - not sure what they were lacking. Then again, perhaps I was too drunk to appreciate them fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
The scones have wonderful texure and a nice blend of oat flavor. My family really enjoy them as breakfast. Will definitely make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
I used single cream instead of milk, and raisins instead of currants. My family loved them with jam, but they are a bit dry the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States